One Month on Medium: What I’ve Learned So Far

Lessons and Observations from a New Writer

Nimisha Srivastava
Freelancer’s Hub
4 min readJul 2, 2024

--

Photo by Vitaly Gariev on Unsplash

I recently quit my day job to explore creating my income stream from digital means. While YouTube has been touted as the most reliable source of long-term income generation, being a millennial, I felt more comfortable expressing myself in words than in videos. Coincidently, I came across a random article which said that the Medium Partner Program has gone live in India.

While I should have done my due diligence, in my defence, the article seemed genuine. I made my Medium profile and signed up as a member while thinking of the money I would make sustainably through Medium. But to my (no)surprise, as soon as I applied for MPP, it showed me that it is not applicable in my country. Nonetheless, intending to pick up writing skills, combined with my love for books and reading, I started writing on Medium. I hoped to build a personal brand and audience that I could maybe leverage in the future.

It has been around 45 days, and I have published around seven articles, two articles pending to go live in publications. Here are my learnings and observations.

1. Write Consistently

It is difficult to make your mark on Medium as a newbie writer. When people are unaware of the knowledge and skills you bring to the platform as a writer, you can show them that you are serious and here for the long haul by publishing consistently. It will help build the trust of your audience from the start. With a host of fabulous writers that this platform has, you will invariably have to spend time and consistently produce good work to create your brand and establish yourself as a writer.

2. Choose your Niche

Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

You have to pick and choose 4–5 areas you want to or can write about. These areas can be your interests and passions, a skill you want to pick and learn, or something you already know and have mastered by your education or profession.

I love reading books and looking to convert this hobby into an income generation stream. I believe in self-growth and spiritual well-being; I am also a fitness enthusiast and experimented with different exercising styles and routines. I also love travelling and exploring new countries. I am a brand marketer by profession. So all this in total gives me five niches

  • Books
  • Spirituality and Self-Growth
  • Fitness
  • Travel
  • Brand Marketing

3. Join Publications

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

What is a Publication?

A publication is like a magazine that publishes articles by different authors in a specific niche or multiple niches.

There are various publications on Medium catering to all and every niche. There are also publications catering to New Writers specifically. Each publication has a unique submission process that you can find under the ‘Write For Us’ or ‘About Us’ section on the publication homepage.

Getting your story published in a publication helps it get the eyeballs in the form of the followers you would not get in self-publishing; at least not at the beginning.

Below is a list of a few publications I am interested in writing for.

4. Read More Stories and Connect

Medium is not a social media platform per se. Most people like me (before becoming a writer on the platform) use Medium as an authentic source of information. However, as a writer trying to build your reputation, it is important to acknowledge other people’s work to help you in your journey. You can do this by leaving a reaction to their story or through clapping or responding/commenting. This will help establish your presence and might lead the author back to your profile.

I respond to the stories I love reading and ask further questions to seek clarity. It helps build your presence.

Medium is a great platform for aspiring writers especially if you belong to a country with a live Medium Partner Program. If you are consistent and write good stories, you can start seeing some money very early.

Check out my other stories here.

--

--

Nimisha Srivastava
Freelancer’s Hub

Bibliophile| Learner| Brand Marketer. Dive into my Medium for Book Insights and Recommendations.