As a Writer, Using a Chromebook Set My Standards too High

After five years of using a Chromebook for my writing, I decided to switch to a Macbook. And I am not impressed.

Sofia Merenych
Freelancer’s Hub
4 min readJun 1, 2021

--

Photo by Ron Lach from Pexels

Disclaimer: 90% of the time I use my computer for reading and writing, and I don’t expect it to have an impressive CPU or RAM. Here’s my experience with the working device, which you may find useful as well.

Five years ago, I landed my first job and needed a laptop. Being a fresh graduate, my budget was limited, so I couldn’t afford to spend a solid sum of money on a laptop, despite it being my primary tool in making money.

I checked a few low-cost Windows-based computers, and none of them felt right. Then I read about cheap computers based on ChromeOS. This operating system is basically a large browser. Chromebooks have certain limitations; for example, you can’t install desktop applications. However, you can use any web application or install Android apps. Also, the modest memory of ChromeOS laptops doesn’t allow you to store files locally.

At that time, I planned to spend most of my working time in the browser. I also was ready to store everything in the cloud, so a Chromebook seemed like a reasonable option. As a result, my choice was a stylish Acer Chromebook 14 in gold.

Acer Chromebook 14 Gold, Photo from acer.com

For less than $300, I got:

  • 100% metal chassis
  • FullHD screen
  • 10 hours of battery life (the laptop survived my whole working day and even more)
  • The size and weight of an ultrabook, making it a perfect travel buddy

My Chromebook was my best friend for almost five years, with zero decrease in productivity, battery life, etc. I used to load it with dozens of tabs in Chrome, connected an external screen, and never experienced any lags.

Until one day. The day when I was not careful enough and let my laptop fall from the couch. The screen matrix was injured. I understood that I needed to replace my laptop.

Initially, I thought of a Chromebook as a temporary device and planned to replace it with something solid as soon as I could. But the laptop was my primary device for five years. And when I saw that strange lines on the screen, the first thing I googled was “Chromebook 14 inch 2020 price”.

Why Did I Switch to a MacBook?

These five years were full of jests from my friends and colleagues. None could take a Chromebook seriously. Most of them were avid MacBook users and they convinced me to give it a try as well. Like, “It’s the only device you’ll ever want”.

A few weeks later, I unpacked my first Apple product ever. I am using it for two months now, and I am not impressed at all. Most of the benefits of using this device are not new to me.

“It’s all-metal; it’s always cool and feels so good in your hands,” said one of my colleagues when I asked why she thinks a Macbook is better than other computers. Well, I had the same in my under-300-dollar-laptop.

“Its battery is impressive,” was another answer. As I found out, the MacBook needs charging in the middle of the working day, unlike my Chromebook, which easily survived 8+ hours. Disappointed.

“You can customize any shortcut”. Yes, finally a feature that I really appreciate in my new laptop.

I know, most MacBook users buy it for outstanding performance. It’s one of the best devices for programming, photo and video editing, graphic design, etc. But is it a good deal for a writer to spend most of her computer time in the browser? Better think twice.

A much cheaper Chromebook can likely satisfy most of your requirements while giving you the experience comparable to flagship ultrabooks.

Will I Keep the MacBook?

Yes. Surprise!

As I mentioned earlier, using a Chromebook set my standards too high. I want a slick and thin all-metal-chassis laptop with lasting battery life and a high-quality display.

I decided not to buy another Chromebook since I start working with graphics and need professional software that isn’t compatible with ChromeOS.

My short research of the available Windows-based laptops didn’t bring any results — the devices that matched my expectations were either ugly or pricey.

So a MacBook is the compromise I am ready to take now.

--

--

Sofia Merenych
Freelancer’s Hub

Searching for the balance between productivity and happiness. Business and technology writer