Braving the Elements to explore Taiwan’s breathtaking Nature and fascinating National Security Environment

About the author: Vanessa Molter’20 is an FSI Global Policy Intern at the The Institute for National Defense and Security Research (INDSR) in Taipei, Taiwan. She is a Master’s in International Policy candidate at Stanford FSI.

Over the past few weeks, having experienced two typhoons and one of the strongest earthquakes in Taipei in recent decades, weather has continued to prove a challenge. Temperatures climb to the nineties every day, which considering high humidity feels like 100F+ outside the oasis of my air conditioned apartment and office. Nevertheless, I am thoroughly enjoying my internship and time in Taipei, and continue to learn immensely about Taiwanese culture, food, security affairs, and more.

Taroko National Park in Eastern Taiwan

Recently, I took a weekend trip to the beautiful Taroko Gorge, a National Park in Eastern Taiwan with incredible nature and stunning views. Although my legs were barely working for two days after my trip, I enjoyed hiking all day, spotting monkeys in the trees, avoiding hornets in the dense forest and playing loud music on my phone to scare away wild boars, as one of the aboriginal villagers I met recommended.

Spotting a monkey in the forest

As for my internship, I am continuously working on my research on Taiwan’s transition to an all-volunteer force military. Over the past weeks, I have reviewed literature and conducted interviews with former members of Taiwan’s National Security Council, scholars, military officials and former Ministers of National Defense as well as some Taiwanese youth to understand and assess this policy.

With colleagues at the International Conference for Military Education

In my remaining time, I will continue interviews and I will write an article for the monthly English-language publication of my institution, the Institute of National Defense and Security Research. In addition to my visits to Taroko and Tainan city, I hope for another opportunity to travel within Taiwan and see more of this beautiful country.

Hiking in Taroko National Park

--

--

FSI Student Programs
Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies

The Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies at Stanford offers engaging, policy-focused Stanford student opportunities.