Exploring CIES 2022

About the author: Bruna Pecin is an MA student in the Department of Education at Stanford University and a recipient of an FSI Conference Grant.

Last week I had the opportunity of experiencing an American academic conference, joining an incredible group of researchers, teachers, educators, and others at the 2022 — the annual conference of the Comparative and International Education Society. CIES is one of the biggest events in the international comparative education academic field. Due to the generosity of The Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies at Stanford (FSI), the Graduate School of Education travel fund, and the Lemann Center for Educational Entrepreneurship and Innovation in Brazil, I was able to present my master’s research project at the conference and receive useful feedback to improve my work.

At a round table with the theme “Addressing Educational Inequalities and Achievement in Brazil”, I, alongside other students from my master’s cohort on International Comparative Education, got to share my ongoing work related to Professional Development of School Principals in Brazil: A Path Towards More Equitable Schools. This experience provided me with the opportunity to receive powerful insights from more experienced researchers, particularly relating to how I can present and discuss my data in ways that can be relatable to other policy workers and educators.

At the conference, I was also exposed to numerous research projects related to international comparative education, as well as rich and interesting research methods. In particular, I highly appreciated learning about some of the initiatives being run in Brazil, my home country, for conducting research on teacher practice over video analysis of classrooms. Additionally, one of the presentations that stroke the most was about The Black American Teacher’s Identities Intersection, mainly due to the clarity that the researcher approached her data analysis, which opened my eyes to new methods that I could use to analyze in my own research.

Finally, it was really interesting getting to know a bit about Minneapolis and exploring the city’s many museums. The Minneapolis University Museum was one that caught my interest, not only because of its incredible architecture but also due to the richness of its art collection.

--

--

FSI Student Programs
Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies

The Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies at Stanford offers engaging, policy-focused Stanford student opportunities.