My Summer Experience as a Cyber Threat Analyst Intern at CyberPeace Institute

About the author: Mobina Riazi ’25 is a Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies global policy intern with the CyberPeace Institute. Mobina is studying Communication and Media Studies (MA) and Political Science (BA) at Stanford University.

This summer, I had the incredible opportunity to work as a Cyber Threat Analyst Intern at the CyberPeace Institute in Geneva, Switzerland. Despite the small size of our office, the institute boasts a diverse team of over 100 employees from around the world, including countries like France, Colombia, and Morocco. This international network and the dedication to our mission, despite the physical distance, have given me invaluable insights into the real-world working environment of the cybersecurity field.

Embracing Flexibility and Building Connections

Being in Geneva has been a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Working closely with my colleagues has led to new friendships and a deeper appreciation for a flexible work environment. I’ve realized that with the right people, remote work can be equally engaging and productive. One of the highlights of my internship was meeting and becoming friends with Alienor, another intern from Paris. Her internship ended before mine, and I even had the chance to visit her in Paris. Our friendship is one of the most cherished connections I’ve made, and it’s heartening to know that our positive energy was recognized by the head of HR.

Expanding My Network

Through CyberPeace Institute, I’ve had the chance to connect with other organizations and notable individuals. I attended a meeting where Charlotte Lindsey presented the harm methodology for feedback, which led to meeting the head of the U.S. mission. This connection provided me the unique opportunity to attend the Fourth of July event at the mission, where I met numerous professionals working at the United Nations. Additionally, attending a talk by Professor Fan Yang at the Geneva Center for Security Policy on the Chinese approach to cyber policy inspired my own research on Iran’s cyber policy at both domestic and international levels. I also had the chance to meet Tobias Verner, head of cyber policy at GCSP, who is doing a one year research fellowship at Stanford in the coming year and I look forward to reconnecting with him once we are both on campus!

Gaining New Skills and Insights

My internship has been a tremendous learning experience, both in terms of technical skills and understanding my own passions within the cybersecurity field. The IT team at CyberPeace Institute was instrumental in helping me set up my basic OSINT (Open Source Intelligence) interfaces and navigate these systems. I learned new skills such as tunneling through VPNs, using SightXR and FirstAlert for data mining, and applying frameworks like MITRE ATT&CK and DISARM to analyze cyber attacks.

One of the most rewarding aspects of my internship was writing my own threat analysis report. This involved tracking hacktivist groups, collecting data on their attacks, analyzing them in terms of quality and quantity, and applying the harm methodology we were developing at the institute for a comparative analysis. This hands-on experience not only enhanced my analytical skills but also deepened my understanding of the complexities of cyber threats and the importance of a systematic approach to cybersecurity.

Conclusion

My time at the CyberPeace Institute has been transformative. The experience has not only equipped me with valuable technical skills but also underscored the importance of flexibility, collaboration, and building meaningful connections in the professional world. As I move forward in my career, I am grateful for the friendships, knowledge, and opportunities that this internship has provided.

--

--

FSI Student Programs
Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies

The Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies at Stanford offers engaging, policy-focused Stanford student opportunities.