Role of a Berlin Think Tank

About the author: Ana Chen ’23 is an FSI Global Policy Intern with the European Council on Foreign Relations. She is currently studying International Relations and East Asian Studies at Stanford University.

As my time with the European Council on Foreign Relations draws to a close, I’m astonished by everything I learned: not only information on European and Chinese politics, but also the intricacies of think tank culture. This is my first time working in such an institution, and my job has brought me in close proximity to academics, policymakers, and thinkers of all kinds. ECFR has invited my analyses on subjects ranging from Chinese feminist movements to sustainability, fields which are frequently swept under the rug in favor of Track I and national security dialogue in the States. My work here has felt deeply personal: an opportunity for me to direct independent research and shape the dialogue surrounding China in Europe. Although my research does not always translate directly to policy, I’ve realized the critical role of a think tank in educating the public and informing public opinion. Each one of ECFR’s commentaries concludes with suggestions for what the European citizen should do in relation to the world, and this prescriptive analysis makes the geopolitical all the more accessible.

My closeness to my work extends to my relationship to my coworkers. I have been welcomed with open arms by interns and colleagues, who take me out to lunch on the steps of the Berlin Opera House, and who are more than willing to provide career advice. Both by trusting me with my own research and authority, and by including me so openly in the think tank’s dialogue, ECFR has made me feel more comfortable and confident in navigating politics.

--

--

FSI Student Programs
Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies

The Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies at Stanford offers engaging, policy-focused Stanford student opportunities.