Tere tulemast Tallinna

About the author: Christina Hill-Carias ’22 is an FSI Global Policy Intern with the International Centre for Defence and Security. She is a graduate student in Russian Studies from Stanford University.

My first weeks in Tallinn were marked by ease and efficiency. I had no prior experience in the Baltic region so I came in with no expectations. Of course, despite my best efforts I was a bit nervous to move to a new country and start working in a foreign office environment. However, as soon as I left the Tallinn airport I learned from my taxi driver how geographically close everything was and was given an overview on Estonian culture, which includes efficiency in many senses of the word.

For example, in Tallinn I was able to take a free walking tour of the city sponsored by the Estonian government. I was happy to make use of this service and get to know the city a bit better with a local guide. I also quickly picked up a bus card and learned how to use the rental bike system of the city.

From Tallinn’s Midsummer Celebration

At work, I hit the ground running, quickly involving myself in the day-to-day functions of the International Centre for defense and Security. I mapped out what projects I specifically wanted to work on this summer and the timeline to complete them with my supervisor. Because it’s summer, I’ve been able to work remotely in coffee shops around the city, something that many Estonian digital workers also partake in.

My office is also housing many other interns so we’ve been able to explore Tallinn together on the weekends after work. We had an especially memorable time at a Midsummer celebration where people dressed in traditional garb and lit up a bonfire. It was an exciting start to my internship and to living in Tallinn!

--

--

FSI Student Programs
Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies

The Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies at Stanford offers engaging, policy-focused Stanford student opportunities.