Voice Post

Khalil Jackson
French 274
Published in
3 min readApr 5, 2017

I couldn’t have found a better article and blogger for my voice post this week. Danielle Guillory is the amazing author behind her “The 5 Stereotypical Things All Ravers Do” blog. This blog in particular blows my mind away because it is absolutely the best blog I’ve found all semester mainly because the content behind this blog matches all of my topics main focal points. She broke her blog up into five different parts and each part was her combating a common stereotype of ravers. Just like the thesis for my last paper! So after reading just the first few sentences I was instantly hooked to read someone else’s blog whose ideology aligns with mine. Like my blogs but unlike my papers, her paper is more on the informal side of writing, but that’s what I expect from blogs anyway. She is a pretty frequent blogger for having written 10 blogs in the past couple of moths so I am sure that by reading more than one of her blogs I would surely be able to pick up on her voice. But for now I am only going to analyze her voice through this blog post.

If you align as an individual that is judgmental towards ravers, I feel that if you read this you could definitely feel as if she’s coming for your head! She is very direct and to the point when explaining or giving reasoning for something. It is also very evident that she probably wrote this exactly how she would speak. There are some words I only use when writing papers and such and wouldn’t use them in real speaking conversations but there is none of that in her post. There are a lot of exclamation marks in her post. Like a lot! So this makes me feel she is being really expressive and is trying to stress a point the best way you could through the form of writing. “In life there are people who do drugs and people who don’t, not just in raves!” As you can see she expresses her ideas in the simplest way and doesn’t beat around the bush about it. She will sometimes have three consecutive sentences that end in exclamation points which leads you to believe she’s really into it. When talking about rave apparel, she has no need to beat around the bush and proceeds with word choices like “sluts and man whores”. Her tone comes off as angered when she turns to asking the reader a series of questions. Assuming the reader feeling offended are those who go against raving. “Why does this clothing offend you so much? Do you get offended when you go to the beach and see topless guys and girls in bikinis? If it’s acceptable to be in swimwear at the beach, why isn’t it acceptable to dress like this at a rave?” She is comparing two and two to try and get her point across but she does it in the tone of exactly how I could hear someone arguing it in real life. She does this again when trying to stress that ravers are the nicest people in the world (which I totally agree with).She tends to reiterate what she’s previously said a lot in her post so I think the redundancy is another way she’s trying to stress a certain argument. She even feels like she cant get to the bottom of it in one post so in the middle of her blog she tags a link to another blog that goes into deeper context of what she’s talking about. To me that seems like she has a lot to talk about! Now her whole blog doesn’t necessarily come off as a persuasive argument but more of like a medium to vent. It seems like she had been waiting to get this down own a blog for a while so when I read it I feel hear a hint of anger and annoyance in her voice. Even the way she structures the blog makes it seem more informal and personal rather than a professional article. She lists the stereotypes as statements like bullet points, and then start her counterargument. Visually, when I see this layout, it feels more inviting to read rather than it appealing as a scholarly article.

--

--