Why I blog.

Your_petit_friend
French 274
Published in
3 min readMar 9, 2017

Hello, world!

I decided to post phone my topic another week to address/ answer a question brought up in my writing class.

Why do I blog?

Well, the obvious answer is I’m being graded on what I post, or more so if I actually post.

The not-so-obvious answer: I’ve been wanting to blog for a while now, but never really had a ‘medium’ (HAHAha…) to post it through.

I briefly started one on blogspot.. which died very quickly, mostly because I was really lazy and suck at keeping journals and what not.

I figured it would be an interesting way to see how my train of thought changes over time, without killing trees because I have filled up a couple of notebooks with ‘journals/rants on paper’. I attempted/ was challenged to keep a thankfulness journal and write down different things I am thankful for on a regular basis, but stopped because I’m lazier than I like to admit.

Also, I realized there are not as many amateur/non-academic sites that take a critical look at the education system. Yes there are tons of statistics and lists that show ‘how behind America is’ in comparison to other countries. However, there aren’t many that really look at how these things affect the people within. There is a lack of seeing the humanity behind the numbers.

I’ve seen a ton of statistics showing crime rates/victim rates and other depressing events. It’s really easy to just think of the numbers and go ‘woah that’s a lot of people, for shame’. Each of those numbers represents people who have a community that is forever changed or haunted by the loss of that individual.

I cannot count how many people around me are ‘aware’ that there is a larger inequity in schools and the professional field and what not, who know about these issues. But I’m skeptical if there is an understanding that this is a somewhat shared experience. There is a lot of divisive rhetoric when we talk about these issues, making it almost seem like a contest of ‘I have it worse than you, therefore you need to help me more’. This is actually a very common phenomenon that is seen in oppressive situations.

And aside from the whole ‘we need to realize there is an issue’ theme, its about time that we see these issues and the people they affect. There is a lack of empathy. There is a lack of seeing the human that is going through the struggle and oppression and really feeling for them. One great thing I’ve gained from a theatre education is I am constantly reminded to find empathy and it really does help me understand different events that I would not have comprehended or cared for previously. (I’m not saying I’m a perfect example of Barney’s “I love you, you love me, we’re a happy family” mentality, but its helped me move in that direction)

At the end of the day, I just hope that these blogs help people see these issues, understand the difficulties, and try to help in small or big ways because they feel empathy.

I know this is a bit of an unusual campfire-song-unity moment. But I really, really hope that the humor/sarcasm and facts can at least help one person learn something new and compel them to have empathy for people who look different and live differently than they do.

I hope you have a great day!

Stay safe and eat your vegetables!

this is adorable. don’t lie to yourself

--

--

Your_petit_friend
French 274

“I’m just tryna figure out life!”- since 1995