Cruel machinations spring to life, and lessons are learnt

FreneticScribbler
Frenetic Scribblings
2 min readJan 7, 2018

In the past week, I’ve been soundly reminded that the Universe is a cruel mistress.

I’ve realised that some people I call/called friends perhaps aren’t as reliable as I first thought. Being ditched on NYE being the pinnacle example of this.

I’ve lost a relationship in which I saw great potential.

Further to that, the realisation I don’t have anyone to talk to. As in to really talk to[1] — have in depth conversations/philosophical musings with. Apart from Where Angels Fear, [2] who might be surprised at how large a role he’s played in keeping me (in)sane recently.

I just had to bump start my bike because the battery died. Let me tell you, pushing 150kgs of chrome and steel up and down a carpark is no fun![3]

Sure, my life could be better. Way better. I’m craving physical contact in any form, and mentally drained.

But even still, I can say with a straight face, ‘Life’s okay’. Maybe even ‘Life’s good’. Just as I’ve made many mistakes, and had many misfortunes over the past week, I’ve learnt many lessons.

The opportunity to learn adds a positive twist to the darkest of days.

I’ve learnt how to forgive, and also that I should be less forgiving.

I’ve learnt to ‘trust but verify’.

I’ve learnt that perhaps I need to reestablish old friendships, or seek completely new ones.

I don’t write this seeking pity, empathy or any such thing. I write this as a reminder that some lessons can only be learnt in a storm.

[1] God I hate small talk

[2] He also gave me the idea for this footnote system, to which I am taking with gusto. Love me some brackets or hyphens, but sometimes footnotes are smoother.

[3] It did start eventually, though, else I might not have been able to write this on time. As it is, its going to be close.

--

--