Kathleen Clarke Anderson
Fresh Darlings
Published in
2 min readJan 31, 2017

--

Maureen Surdez photography

I am

I am that monolith parade filing along the gully while the air tastes of heat like hot, crumbled pie crust packed in a Chevy nine passenger wagon winding over railless roads

I am the sultry Seaside Heights Boardwalk sweltering humidity mixed with cotton candy, Taylor ham, and salt water taffy, screaming children, and yellow lights shimmering in fun house mirrors

I am the lighted Ponte Neuf lovers leaning over seeing the reflection in the city of lights through slashes of lightning along the Seine while standing at the head of the boat in the pouring rain

I am Hemingway’s old Royal typewriter looking at three keys pressed still on black ribbon while cats slink through my legs in a bungalow on Whitehead Street, Key West

I am the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel while stillness heaviness, press upon me gazing up, marveling at the beauty of half brightened, half dulled revitalization of the masterpiece

I am Pemaquid Point lighthouse, standing strong watchful while carefully touching jutting rocks grasping tiny hands seeing lobster buoys counting colors floating in white capped waves

I am a concert parking lot chugging ice cold long necks tarty margaritas sloppy shots, lounging in ribboned summer chairs, cigarettes aglow listening to tracks of super stars

I am the Pompton Queen Diner, disco fries loaded toasted bagel cream cheese chocolate shake, booth in the back at 2:00 AM any Saturday night

I am my naked girls smelling of Johnson’s tub fresh running down the hall wrapped in bed sheets damp hair screaming peals of laughter

I am the woman in the mirror with two stips of grey hair looking at lines applying creams searching for the serums to carry her back to the parade of three filing along a southern shoreline

I am a bathroom counter strewn with perfume makeup brushes eyeliner blush and curling irons,blowing and straightening hair for wishful dreams ready for the next generation of nights out

I am, a part of the couple, sleeping hands entwined watching over his face feeling his shifts and turns used to the rhythm of his breathing, finally safe and sound strong, in a sense of hope in a future or for an eternity.

Thank you to @Darren and Garnet

--

--

Kathleen Clarke Anderson
Fresh Darlings

“And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise.” Sylvia Plath