Rambling Reverie

A prose poem response to the 20 questions prompt

Indira Reddy
Fresh Darlings
1 min readMay 9, 2017

--

Flickr

Driving to a wedding. Rain and roadworks on the main road, pushing me to the small lanes, through unpaved stretches of muddy earth and I go round and round.

The smell of rain on earth makes me smile.

And I drown in reverie

Remembering a book in my hands, leaning on you, sunlight on my face and

Coffee, the contentment, happiness and peace of that shared hot cup as

It sears through you, blushing your cheeks, making you sweat, mouth agape as you thirst

Warmth seeps through, heating up hands, liquid warmth slides down softly, reminding me that

Although you are not here, your smiles are with me; Your face doesn’t grace this place now but the memory of your footsteps still resounds in my heart

And so, I relax, giving in to living in the moment

Comfortable in my own skin

--

--

Indira Reddy
Fresh Darlings

Endlessly fascinated by how 26 simple symbols can say so much…