THE SAXOPHONIST

Whyte Queen
Fresh Darlings
Published in
1 min readApr 19, 2017

I could hear music

But I didn’t know what type of music

Maybe it’s from a party

I still searched round and round and round

I kept walking towards the sound

The music sounded good to me ears

It called out to me

Yet I didn’t know how to reply

Still walking and relishing the sound

I walked into its source

It emanated from a young guy

Sitting in the hot sun

Just outside his house

He was a saxophonist

And a damn pretty good one

Even though I didn’t know the song he was playing now

I still enjoyed it

I gazed upon him and he returned same

I threw away my face

And managed a grimace

As I passed him

The music stopped

It wasn’t the only that stopped

My heart did

Every life and flicker of hope disappeared with it

Just then something happened

He played a familiar tune this time

“God My Help in Ages Past”

It lit up my soul once again

And brought back life to my life

The atmosphere became cool; even in the sun

Everywhere became brighter and sparkling

And then something was there;

A flicker of hope;

Despair disappeared!

The flames of hope rekindled!

How didn’t I notice this before!

That He was in charge all this while

God spoke to me through the saxophonist

And I wished to know them more!

--

--

Whyte Queen
Fresh Darlings

" I grabbed the moon and hid it under my pillow."