Thoughts on Spanish Corrida

Pavel Tereshchenko
Freshman Analyses & Opinions
3 min readDec 9, 2014

--

Have you ever been in Spain before? If you have, then there is a good possibility that you are familiar with corrida. Corrida has been around Spain since centuries ago and it is still pretty big in some of the biggest cities of Spain like Barcelona, Madrid and Valencia. In simple words it is a bullfighting show, which is very dangerous and bloody. For people who live in Spain and are familiar with the show, it doesn’t seem as harsh as for the people from other different countries. Bulls run around the rink trying to avoid getting stabbed — pretty insane.

This summer while being in Spain on vacation me and my dad decided to go to one of those bullfighting shows just because we have always heard about it but never actually went and saw it live. Before the show we decided to read more about it on the Internet, which wasn’t a good idea because as soon as my mother and my girlfriend saw the pictures online they refused to go and watch Corrida with us. It just seemed too much for women to be a part of it, because of the bloodiness and the amount of bulls being killed in one show. While walking in into the arena, which is made specifically for the bullfighting, me and my dad didn’t really know what exactly to expect but we had a little idea. The Corrida is insane. Those are the only words that come on my mind when I think about it. The reason why is because in the matter of about one hour we have ended up seeing 8 bulls getting destroyed. It was really painful to watch and I guess because we weren’t really used to it, we couldn’t stay for the entire show, we left after about an hour and half but the bulls kept coming out. Usually one bullfighting show lasts up to 3 hours. I personally think it is crazy to do something like that but I am not going to be judging because of the long-term traditions that Spain has. And I guess the only positive outcome for the bulls is that if they survive — they get treated like Gods. They get sent to the land where they stay for the rest of their lives. One bull can only go through the bullfighting process once but not that many of them make it until the end, which is really sad. It was very interesting to see how it is and feel the atmosphere in the arena but I don’t think I would want to go see it more than once. Seeing all the people go crazy and while a good amount of bulls is being killed is just out of this world. It is only my opinion because there are a lot of people who live inside of the Corrida Discourse and actually enjoy it.

--

--