Source: pixgood.com

Why is Doing Well “Bad?”

The negative connotation behind overachieving

Dalani Roy
Freshman Opinions & Analyses
3 min readDec 11, 2014

--

In high school, I admit that I was a pretty stellar student. Always went above and beyond on projects, studied for every test, quiz, and did every reading imaginable. I didn’t gloat about it, I just got my good grades and I worked hard. Who knew that was a bad thing?

Hobey Baker Character Award

My friends called me an “overachiever.” When they asked me what I got on an assignment, chances are it was better than theirs. “Oh of course,” they’d say. It made me feel bad about myself. Thinking back, it makes me ask the question: “Do students feel the need to do worse on certain things to ‘fit in?’”

In Rebekah Nathan’s article “The Art of College Management,” she talks about certain groups that can be found at universities across the nation, as well as how to successfully manage your college careers. One of the groups she described as “new outsiders,” who were “careerist and practical in their approach to education, often showing little interest in the extracurriculum apart from professional club activities.”

In high school, I was on three different sports teams, captain of all 3 my senior year. I was inducted into the National Honor Society, received school spirit awards for being captain of The Beak Squad (our student section), character award, awards for academics- you name it. I tried to stay balanced in my education and my activities after school. I liked being involved.

Front and center at every football game.

That’s what the administration tells you right? “Get involved!” It should be tattooed on our foreheads just in case we start to forget it. I wanted to be involved and do well and I liked talking to teachers more because I could hold a civilized conversation. Nathan wrote that “Even though there are strong conventions against being publicly ‘chummy’ with professors, many students seem to implement discreetly the advice to ‘be friendly to your professors.’”

And another thing that bothered me was the fact that my peers could constantly skip class and nothing would be done. Yes it was senior year and yes no one wants to be in class but come on. Skipping to go get Aroma Joes and being late almost every day? Having over 30 absences in one quarter? That’s a bit excessive. (And if you’re wondering, yes I had a friend that did that.)

However it seems to be an acceptance thing if you skip a class. “On the occasions when I, too, ‘ditched’ a class, the reactions I received from other students were noticeably positive, including a ‘thumbs up’ and an understanding ‘we all need a break’ from hall mates, and a ‘way to go, girl,’ from a classmate.”

One of proudest and greatest achievements of mine to this date.

I’ve skipped one class my first semester, a lecture because I thought I was going to curl up and die if I didn’t sleep a little bit. People do need recovery days and sick days but it shouldn’t be a requirement in order to fit in with a crowd.

Next time that you think you have to do bad, remember that this is your life you’re controlling; it has nothing to do with your friends. If they don’t care about getting good grades than that’s your problem. You have enough to worry about with yourself. I love that in college, I’m surrounded by others who are motivated to work hard almost all of the time. It motivates me when I need it the most!

Sources: Rebekah Nathan “The Art of College Management.”

--

--