Abdalrahman Sameh

Aleksandra Dimcheva
Freshman Stories
Published in
2 min readNov 14, 2019

Upon graduating high school Abdalrahman Sameh knew he wanted to continue his studies at a university in a European country.

“I wanted to travel somewhere else because I didn’t want to stay in Egypt for another four years. I wanted to see a lot of other places.”

Abdalrahman is an AUBG freshman, coming from Egypt. Some of his hobbies are playing video games and watching movies. At AUBG he plans to study Computer Science as well as to take courses in Film Studies and Psychology. “That is what a game developer major is.”
Some of the things he would like to do while studying at the university are to travel around Europe and see countries like France and Germany.

“In Egypt, we have some places like … a corner, a Paris corner. So, it’s like you are in Paris — the cafeterias look like the ones in Paris, the streets look like these in Paris … So, these places are really nice. And I want to see that,” says Abdalrahman.

As a foreigner in a new country, his expectations of Blagoevgrad were that it would provide more activities for a student to enjoy when having free time. “I imagined Blagoevgrad to be more alive and I would have a lot of things to do during the weekends.”

Additionally, he says that one of his struggles at the university so far is the fact that he does not know many other students.

“I came late, a week. So, in my case, it’s harder to socialize as much as the other people because they knew each other from the orientation week and I didn’t come to the orientation week. I had some visa problems,” says Abdalrahman.

He also adds that a contributing factor is that a lot of cafes and all stores here close way earlier. “In Egypt, you can actually spend the whole night outside. Some places close at 1 a.m., others stay up to 4 a.m. and third open at 6 a.m.”

Fast-forwarding into the future Abdalrahman says that he really wants to succeed in programming.

“A goal I have is to make a video game.”

###

Aleksandra Dimcheva is a sophomore at AUBG majoring in Journalism and Mass Communication. She loves meeting new people and listening to their stories.

--

--