Alexander Nikolov

Svetoslav Zhelev
Freshman Stories
Published in
2 min readNov 14, 2019

Alexander Nikolov is a very ambitious freshman that has chosen to further develop his video producing skills by investing in his technological studies, and apply them at the vibrant events in AUBG.

Alexander is an AUBG freshman who comes from Veliko Tarnovo. He chose AUBG, because he believes that the university will allow him to experience the life-style as if being in a foreign country, due to the variety of international students on campus. Alex says, “I wouldn’t be able to go to my home town that often because, when I am here, I get the chance to go home every two to three weeks and if I was abroad, I would get that chance only once or twice in a year.”

Alex considers his free time as time for relaxation and doing what is most fun for him. If the next day is not filled with assignments Alex says, “I will most probably play some music, while I am playing a video game or go out with friends.”

Being the ambitious student that he is, Alex constantly tries to be on the same level as the top performing colleague in class. In addition to that, Alex says, “If I became interested in something for example, editing, I start to watch a lot of videos, I research on my own, like a lot. I just set a goal, a temporary goal — so, my goal for this week will be to edit this video like they did it in the tutorial, and I am doing it over and over and over again, until I completely that goal and I set a harder goal, a more advanced video to make.”

As a newcomer to AUBG, Alex has been adapting fairly quickly to the new environment. He is getting used to English way more, due to living with an Albanian roommate, which stimulates him to speak even more in English. He enjoys life on campus, due to the vast number of students and as a talkative person, he finds plenty of friends to hang around with.

###

Svetoslav Zhelev is majoring in Information System and Journalism and Mass Communications. Interviewing freshmen made him compare himself to them and see how much he has changed.

--

--