Anastasia Mozgova

Vladkuzik
Freshman Stories
Published in
2 min readNov 14, 2019

Anastasia Mozgova is a very brave, intelligent, hardworking student, whose number one hobby in school was to study.

“My school life was busy… Before my eleventh grade, I was studying really hard. I participated in a lot of contests… I finished my school with a gold medal; it’s like Dean’s list, all A,” Anastasia says.

Anastasia is an AUBG freshman who is from the East part of Ukraine. She is planning to study journalism and mass communication, but in school, she planned to become a fashion designer. “I was thinking that I’m going to be a fashion designer… As a family tradition. My mother and grandmother were doing stuff with fabrics like sewing. In the middle of the tenth grade, I had an existential crisis,” she says laughing. “I didn’t want it to become my profession, as I like speaking to people and getting information.”

When she was 16, Anastasia won an exchange contest and went to the USA, Texas, where she lived for one year in American “host-family” and studied in an American school. “And it was just before leaving back to Ukraine and I was crying a lot. Honestly, it was a very strange feeling. I wanted to go home, but I had this realization that I might never see these people again,” she says.

After experiencing the privileges of the liberal arts system, Anastasia wanted to continue studying like this in the future. This was the biggest reason for choosing the American University in Bulgaria. She is very confident that she made the right choice as she feels very comfortable here. “In comparison to the United States, where I was feeling homesick from the first week, here I didn’t have anything like that. Here I have no homesick at all. When I came back home to Ukraine, I was missing Scapto and Bulgaria. And now in the Scapto dorm, I feel more like home than in Ukraine, as I have so many things to do here.”

Now, Anastasia is still adapting to the new environment at AUBG, but for the next semester, she is planning to sign up for a couple of clubs. “I’m also interested in TEDEX, but I’m not sure how to get there… I was also thinking about Dance Crew,” Anastasia adds.

###

Vladyslav Kuzyk is a senior and studies business at the American University in Bulgaria. Now, he is thinking of changing his major to JMC.

--

--