Kliment Stamenkov

Yoana
Freshman Stories
Published in
3 min readNov 14, 2019

Kliment Stamenkov admits that he is a person who enjoys challenges. When it comes to his studies, he is always ready to work hard.

“I have found out that if you take time to do your work and put effort into it, you will see the effect it has on your grade, and that it is not that scary to take even higher level courses. Compared to high school, it is harder to study here but I find myself enjoying it. I don’t think that these courses are affecting my mental and physical health; they challenge me but in a good way.” Kliment says.

Kliment is an AUBG freshman who comes from Macedonia. Although he grew up in the small village of Istibanja, he has big dreams and a worldly mindset. He has always known that he wants to study Computer Science. Kliment is interested in AI development and hopes to one day create a company of his own. “I would not like to work for a big company all my life; I wouldn’t think I would be okay working for a place like that for a long time. I would just like to get some initial experience and then I would like to work on smaller projects that focus into my interests and goals of helping people.”

Kliment says he has chosen his profession not because it is profitable but because it is an activity he really enjoys. He also wishes to impact people in a positive manner through his work. “I strive to become a person that does good. I like helping people in any ways I can, and… I would like to get a job or build a job that is going to bring overall good to the community,” he shares.

In his free time, Kliment enjoys socializing and going out to new places. He wishes to live in a big European or American city where he will be surrounded by people from different cultures and various interests. He describes himself as a party animal and a person who likes to have adventures wherever he goes. In Blagoevgrad, one of his favorite places is Underground.

Another hobby of his is social media. He shared that making friends online has been a way for him to remain open minded, despite growing up in an environment with a lot of narrow-minded people.

Kliment has also joined the Admissions Office as an Admissions Ambassador. He says he really appreciates the variety at AUBG and wishes to contribute to it by helping recruit more students from foreign countries. He is a fan of the Liberal Arts educational system and says that he would like to popularize this style of education in his home country.

###

Yoana Misheva is a senior at AUBG who studies Political Science and International Relations. She is excited about graduating and feels for the freshmen who have a lot of struggles ahead of them.

--

--