Kris Petrov

Denislava Angelova
Freshman Stories
Published in
2 min readNov 14, 2019

--

Kris is an AUBG freshman from Sofia. He has grown up in the capital of Bulgaria and would always prefer it to the countryside. “I want to do stuff constantly and I like just having the option to do that. There’s nothing wrong with chilling and reading books, and, you know, just relaxing, but [in the countryside] you cannot do much more after that,” Kris said.

In his free time, Kris loves reading books and watching movies and TV series. His favorite book is Trainspotting by Irvine Welsch, which his parents quoted a lot while he was growing up, and his favorite TV series is True Detective. For him, it is really important for a TV series to have a good production and plot, regardless of the genre.

When he was still in high school, Kris was a proactive person. He came to the university for the first time on the AUBG MultyTalent Quest. He said that the time spent here, made him change his whole perspective about the future. “From then on, I set AUBG as my goal. And when 12th grade came, and I had to choose where to study — AUBG was my first choice,” Kris said.

Apart from being enterprising during his high school years, Kris is also proactive in the AUBG community. He is part of the university club — StartUP. “I actually feel very inspired by all the people in the club,” Kris said and continued that his current goal is to be more like the rest of the members.

Before coming to AUBG, Kris was an intern in a company based in London, called CMC markets, where he learned everything about the responsibilities and operations of the employees. There, he was often feeling the least smart person in the room but that did not stop him from trying to improve himself. “It’s a natural reaction to react negatively and in a scared way, but it also inspired me to ask myself: “Do I want to be in this position forever? Do I want to always feel like that?” So, I took the steps to change. I said that I want to be like these people and I started to really pursue my education and now I am completely focused on that,” Kris said.

###

Denislava Angelova is studying Information Systems and Business Administration at AUBG. She is interested in exploring the youngest minds on campus.

--

--