Mila Mandicheva

Sofia Drenkova
Freshman Stories
Published in
2 min readNov 15, 2019

--

Mila Mandicheva describes herself as a positive person and says she wants to be helping people.

“I want my whole life to be revolving around psychology and just helping people… I just want to be there for people, if this becomes my profession then what better,” Mila says.

This passion led her to currently being a freshman at AUBG and hoping to major in Psychology. Mila is coming from a small high school in Sofia and says that she feels honored to be studying at AUBG.

Besides helping people Mila is also aware of preserving the nature. She tries to reduce her waste, and shares that eco-related things such as metal straws or bio-degradable utensils make her happy. Mila’s favorite place is the sea and she finds it very disturbing when it has been polluted.

Whenever Mila sees rubbish outside of bins she picks it up and throws it away. However, she admits that if she saw somebody polluting, she wouldn’t say anything to that person, because she is shy and “scared of people’s reactions”.

Being shy and scared are traits Mila doesn’t like in herself. “I don’t like how shy I am, because I get nervous, uhm… from the smallest interaction with people I don’t know.”. She adds that being scared is what has stopped her from showing her biggest talent — playing the piano.

“I am afraid to show what I am good at, I am, as I said I am kind of scared to show off my skills at the piano for example, because I’ve been playing it for my whole life and many people tell me that I am very good, but I just don’t want to, I just want it to be something for myself.”

Mila is a very musical person, she plays the piano, the guitar, sings in the university’s choir and dances in the folk-dance club. She says that she is working on stepping out of her comfort zone and letting people see the beauty in what she does.

What Mila personally finds beautiful are sunsets, she takes pictures of them every day. “Sunrises are the symbol for the new beginning, but I like to look for the end of something because this means that I have come to an end and not just given up in the meanwhile.”

In the same way, Mila is looking forward to her senior year at AUBG and hopes to keep her positive outlook on the future. “I am very much looking for me graduating, but I will do my best to enjoy my time here, as I am now.”

# # #

Sofia Drenkova studies Jornalism and Mass Comunication at AUBG. She is exited about getting to know new people

--

--