Yassin Mahmoud

Layla Ramadan
Freshman Stories
Published in
2 min readNov 14, 2019

Yassin Mahmoud is a 19-year-old AUBG student determined to major in Journalism & Mass Communication and minor in Film Studies. Although this decision was not as simple.

He is half Sudanese and Bulgarian. He was born and raised most of his life in Dubai, The United Arab Emirates, and then he moved to a boarding school in London, England, and spent a year in Sofia, Bulgaria.

In that year in Sofia, he studied at The University of Architecture, Civil Engineering and Geodesy. “Architecture was the main goal. It is a sentimental thing to me because it has been a thing in my dad’s side of the family. Members like my great grandfather to my father worked as that, so I decided to continue the line of architecture, but it didn’t seem right for me and I realized that later,” Yassin explains and adds how he was struggling academically in that field.

He mentions that his three months at AUBG have been much easier, he enjoys his circle of friends and working in a group with them. Yassin and his group have study sessions and create study flashcards for each other.

Short video productions and cinematics are what Yassin takes interest in. He has worked with growing artists, produced and edited music videos for them. “Some of them had 50,000 plus followers on Instagram and two of them were verified, so, not BIG big names but they were getting somewhere,” Yassin says.

“I’m proud of him cause he’s living a real nice life now, he got so successful and he started from nothing, like literally nothing,” Yassin says. He looks up to his father, explaining how he focused on university, got married and used up their last savings to start a life and family in the UAE. Yassin considered it to be “kind of dull” but as he grew older he understands and respects the effort his father put. “I think the grind he was on amazes me,” he adds.

“This contradicts everything that I said about my father teaching me values and it may sound materialistic but I have a passion of collecting sneakers,” Yassin says.

Yassin looks forward to learning what he actually likes at AUBG. He agrees that it may get tougher in the upcoming years. “Atleast I’ll be doing something I’m actually passionate about, so I’ll take that and enjoy it,” he adds.

###
Layla Ramadan is studying Journalism & Mass Communication at AUBG. She enjoys meeting new people and this assignment gave her the opportunity to do so.

--

--