Meeting customers and growing the business at Freshdesk

Vignesh Vijayakumar
Freshworks Insider
Published in
5 min readMay 26, 2015

Meet Ryan Clarke.
Ryan graduated from the University of Arizona with a major in Communications and minor in Business. He recently joined Freshdesk as an Account Executive, working from our San Francisco headquarters.

In this interview, Ryan tells us about his experience interviewing at and joining Freshdesk.

What made you choose Freshdesk?
Prior to joining Freshdesk, I was looking for an opportunity to make a difference and not just be another number. There were many companies out there pitching to me, persuading me, and offering me things I had never previously been offered. I recognized that the power lay in my hands and I wanted to do something meaningful with it. But no one option stood out from the rest until I received an email from Freshdesk.

Tell us about your interview process at Freshdesk.
The interview process began with a call from an Enterprise Account Executive named Toan. Immediately I could tell Toan was very passionate about his role. A day later they asked me to come in to meet with the team. In my previous positions, I had never met with the President of a company so I did my homework. I read every article on the internet I could find about Freshdesk and watched every video available, some would say I was overly prepared. Once the meeting was over, I knew in my mind that Freshdesk was where I wanted to build a future. Dilawar Syed, the president, played a major role in helping me arrive at that decision. He inspired me. He spoke with me about the opportunities for growth, the opportunity to make an impact, and how my future at Freshdesk was ultimately up to me.

How would you describe Freshdesk and the people you work with?
Freshdesk’s environment is really one-of-a-kind. We are growing rapidly and expanding our offices worldwide. But, deep down, we are still a startup at heart. I work with some of the brightest minds in the tech industry with the biggest hearts. The mentality is we go above and beyond for one another no matter what the scenario or time zone. Our team is one of many different backgrounds, cultures and personalities. When you throw us all together, that is Freshdesk. I have never woken up each morning and been excited to go to work, until now.

What traits are most critical to be a part of Freshdesk?
Attitude is critical. Also, being flexible and open to change, since we are growing and changing and learning together. We need to be able to work together to improve, not just get frustrated over processes that aren’t fully there yet. Have fun, enjoy what you do, and be a team.

How do you work with your team to get things done?
I’ve played on a lot of sports teams and have always had a team player mentality when it comes to sports, friends and my career. I love working together to achieve a common goal. I collaborate by having open communication and holding everyone accountable for their respective duties. I make sure to map out a strategy and execute by giving my team things to do based on their strengths. I always give everything my all no matter what the task and I work with an open mind because things don’t always go as planned.

What is the most awesome thing that you’ve done so far at Freshdesk?
The most awesome thing I have done at Freshdesk is putting myself on the spot at events. Within my first two days at Freshdesk, I was asked to demo a product that I barely knew to a room full of people. I was nervous, but I loved the challenge! It led me to be more confident in my ability to handle things on the fly and adapt to any situation. I have always been outgoing and I am really happy that I got the opportunity to be in a customer facing role and engage individuals about how Freshdesk can help them.

Ryan at Freshdesk’s Customer Happiness Tour.

What, in your opinion, is the most challenging part of your job?
The most challenging part is probably figuring out new processes. Since we are a fast-growing start up, we’re still figuring out and setting up many new processes. But the challenges are what make it exciting. I have the opportunity to help create the processes and build the company. I love being able to create my own path and be recognized for the hard work I put in.

What is the most rewarding part of working at Freshdesk?
The culture. Even though we are a global company and I have yet to meet most of the team in person, it feels like I already know them and I feel like I am a part of the Freshdesk family.

Outside of Freshdesk, what do you love doing? Tell us about your hobbies.
Growing up, my parents always had a difficult time keeping me grounded as I always wanted to be out exploring, playing sports or hanging with my compadres. Nothing has changed in adulthood, I love traveling, hiking, working out, playing all types of sports (especially soccer, basketball, and football). I am also a huge movie buff.

What do you think makes a good Account Executive?
Attitude. Having the right attitude will not only make you better at sales, but it will shape your future. Having the right attitude means staying positive in every situation and going beyond your job requirements. Reach out to prospects with a positive attitude and let them see how passionate you are about what you do and your desire to help them. Sales is hard because people often reject you off the cuff. You need to shake it off and stay positive.

Tell us why someone should join the Sales team at Freshdesk.
Recently, I was at an event with our president, and after we presented to a packed room, a gentleman came up to me and said: “Great session, I have seen a lot of helpdesks throughout my tenure and it is clear that Freshdesk is a big step above all the rest.” I felt proud.

My team is on the front lines of Freshdesk’s growth. We have a great product, a passionate team and the ability to make a real impact.

Freshdesk is continuing to expand our sales team in San Francisco. If you are passionate about customer service, love talking to customers, enjoy closing deals, and think you’d excel at Freshdesk, email us at getalife@freshdesk.com.

--

--

Vignesh Vijayakumar
Freshworks Insider

CS. Design. Journalism. Marketing. PR. HR. WWE fan. ENFP-A. I might just know you. Bacon might need 6 degrees, I don’t.