Robotics/Autonomous Team

Erick Castro
DX Innovation at Fresno State
4 min readJun 24, 2019

Join us now to explore Autonomous Robots and Artificial Intelligence!

The Fresno State Hub of Digital Transformation provides project-based learning experience in ROS (Robot Operating System) via Amazon RoboMaker and AWS AI services. This is an amazing opportunity to learn and apply software and hardware engineering skills with emerging Cloud tools to prepare for a career in robotics and automation.

Ready to join our team? Email Max Tsai, Innovation Architect and Coordinator of Fresno State Digital Transformation.

New AY2019–2020 Cohort

Jon Case

Lee Chang

Alwin Villamor

Evan Toland

Gurleen Kaur

Summer 2019 — Current

( by Last Name Order )

Erick Castro

(~ 08/2019/Graduated)

Hi, I’m Erick and I am a recent grad with a Bachelor’s in Computer Science from Fresno State. I like taking on challenges and tackling problems with innovative solutions using my experience in cloud technologies and various programming skills.

I’m interested in AI because i believe it has countless untapped solutions for everyday normal problems people face today and the new challenges that emerge due to advancement in technology.

Michael GilletteBerg

Hello, my name is Michael and I am a Computer Information Systems student at Fresno State.

I have a passion for all things relative to business and finance. I’m a self starter with an interest in innovative technologies that aid in making business processes easier and faster.

Shifatul Islam

Hello, I am Sif, I am a computer science major at Fresno State University. From my childhood, I have always been interested in computers and when I moved California and saw Google’s self-driving cars, I was so amazed that I have decided to pursue my higher studies in AI and machine learning. I also have a strong background in software engineering.

AI is the future of Computer Science, and I would like to be a part of that future by contributing as much as possible. I would like to learn more about image processing, and integrating hardware equipment such as lidar (Light Detection and Ranging sensor), TOF (Time-of-Flight) camera and others with AI and machine learning algorithms etc.

Ravi Shah

Hello, I am Ravi currently pursuing my undergraduate degree in computer engineering.

I believe that one can learn best by doing it and that’s the reason I am working on various projects that have captured my interests. I have been interested in Mars rovers ever since the Curiosity rover landed on the red planet. I decided to become a computer engineer so that I could work on robotics and autonomous rovers. I would like to learn how the data is processed by the rover, how the physical environment is converted to digital data and processed. I got interested in deep learning due to its application in image processing and signal processing. I hope to learn more about this field in the coming years.

Stanley Wan

Hello, my name is Stanley Wan and I am currently studying Master degree in Computer Science in Fresno State.

I am interested in AI research and RPA development. I would like to learn more about machine learning and software engineering. AI is very important for the humans lives in the future. Given today’s intensely competitive technology environment, the ability to AI is not only useful, but convenient. I intend to rely on my strong logical thinking and integration skills to contribute to society

Summer 2019

(Left to right) Dr. Liu, Bryan, Henry, Michael, Shifatul, Max, Ravi, Stanley, Erick, Ankur

--

--