Want To Be More Consistent? Just Play The Next Play

Ev Chapman
Friction To Flow
Published in
2 min readMay 29, 2021

Being consistent in one thing leads to consistency in all things

Seeing over 60 days of consistent writing on my calendar is cool and all. But it’s meant something more powerful than just words on a page. It’s proved to me that I AM a consistent person. And every day I write, I prove it to myself again. You see consistency isn’t just about willpower. It’s the belief that you can do it.

Just Play The Next Play

Alabama’s head football coach, Nick Saban, put’s it like this, ‘Don’t look at the scoreboard, just play the next play.’ It’s the action every day that counts. Every day you take consistent action you are building trust with yourself. Proving that you are that consistent person.

The more you make plays, the more you get good at them, the more you perfect them, the more you can do them in your sleep and when you’re tired and don’t feel like making the plays.

Belief builds confidence and confidence leads to success

And now that I’ve finally learned to trust myself, I’m gaining my confidence back that I might finally be able to apply that same consistency to other things in my life that I’ve struggled with like sticking to my gym routine or breaking some bad food habits.

So, what’s your next play today?

--

--

Ev Chapman
Friction To Flow

I help high performers being held back by their tools & workflows unlock a new kind of personal knowledge system that works as hard and as smart as they do.