My time in the present

Prince Humphrey
Frictional Autobiography
2 min readMay 21, 2020

I live in the present with an eye to tomorrow

I live to do anything as I leave unturned no stone

I live to tell you everyday that I will sacrifice my all

For nothing but the love of a beautiful heart

My emotions have been strangers

They inhabit my mind

Today is restless looking for a way out of the confusion

Before I jump to conclusion

You envisage the direction of my thoughts

They drive me

I don’t drive them

Locked I try to keep them

The birds in the trees may be my witnesses

The butterflies are still oblivious

The past is always contentious

For we reason on hind sight

Pardon my reckless eyes

They put me under pressure

I saw your beauty immense

Very ill the present

Seeking for way out

Like a bad smell yesterday hangs around

Oozing through the crack in the wall

The spiders do nothing but mock

Every night listening to my talk

I blame them not

In my thought I sojourn

Through the land of loving

The future holds only bliss

Yet I push it aside

For today I need to conquer my mind

To bring it into subjection

To contend with my heart’s objection

I tender my case for the future

I plead for the course

Of a noble cause

So I make friends with the sun

I’m a child of light

Cover me with your sunshine

Ignore the shadows of the dreary night

Not eager to step aside

Not wanting to give place to the morn time

They fight

The trees are afraid of the cloudy sky

Checking their roots staying tight

The bats hurrying to their caves with no blinds

The storm is calling the wind

The trees swaying violently

Protesting by dropping their leaves

The morning comes with unease

I count the cost

It amounts to much

Bring me tomorrow for a ransom

I’m hungry for the future

Though my time is in the present

The winter is a friend

Enamoured from the elements

The future refuses to come running

Though for long I’ve been calling

The moon is swirling

The earth is ageing

I don’t know the time of the seasons

Yet the future is shunning me

Beg her for me

To forgive me

For my time is in the present

--

--

Prince Humphrey
Frictional Autobiography

Co-founder of @prognostore. I am trying to write down the thoughts that plague me.