Way Out Of My Thoughts

Prince Humphrey
Frictional Autobiography
2 min readNov 18, 2016

When I can’t sleep, I think and when I finally fall asleep, I dream. Sometimes I daydream too even at nighttime when I struggle to find sleep. I’ve learnt to write down my thoughts to ease the mental pressure. Here’s one I wrote a while back.

I

It’s not a game I like to play

Love is never a game

Yet I find myself coming again

No insights for my brain

It’s not too dark like yesterday

II

It’s easy for me to write always

It takes less space

I cling to the margins of sight

Footpath in the field of hay

Let me roll in it for some play

III

The game I play everyday in my head

Running the words between two friends

I can’t write anything yet

It’s no writer’s block I suffer

The thoughts of loving I can’t expel

I cling to the edge of time

IV

Double-barrel slap of no innocence

I ached in my sleep, nay in my head

The words I couldn’t conjure

Never enough of a flexible thought

I’m too happy for my beloved

So I blocked out from view the words

V

I am ever patient to dispel the frown

Ah, the footpath to the stream

Bedevilled by the birds whispering

I tried to whistle not like a clown

But worst than an acapella singer

See the birds mocking my singing

VI

I can’t get the words out of the factory

The place where they are formed

Blocked by the passage of time

Time spent being happy in love

I’m loved up and I get no thoughts

VII

This is nothing but madness

For months we have been friends

Now it’s beautiful beyond words

Poetry was my way out of my thoughts

Before she came around

She cared for my state of mind

VIII

Never one to get upset over a thing

So I’m unchallenged and free

Unencumbered rolling in the hay

The fields of the mind is dry

The sun shining bright at noon time

I’m running late for my spine

IX

The tank is running low

It’s not too dark, I see my shadow

Nay, my shadows are everywhere

They trail me like the atmosphere

I’m not afraid of going out

Though the darkness is unfriendly

X

Now I can’t tell my story like I want

Poetry was the way out of my thoughts

Yet I can’t run the words for comfort

Let me find solace under my duvet

For the bed is cold I can’t find the word

It’s for my love and I need to pray

Enjoyed that read? Click the ❤ below to recommend it to other interested readers!

--

--

Prince Humphrey
Frictional Autobiography

Co-founder of @prognostore. I am trying to write down the thoughts that plague me.