Patty’s Favorite Things in 2021

A Book, Podcast, Show, Music, and yes, an Instagram Account

Patty Delaney
FridaySwell
2 min readDec 21, 2021

--

Book: The Midnight library by Matt Haig

I have thought many times how my life could have gone in a different direction based on choices/ risks taken or not taken. This is a great book to watch how this happens to the main from the outside.

Instagram: Adam Grant

From his Ted Talks and books, he is such a breath of fresh air. In his Instagram account I get a daily dose of rational/sane/insight that is relatable and other insights that make me smack my forehead and groan (when he calls out behavior/s I am guilty of)

Podcast: Glennon Doyle — “We can do hard things”

This podcast tackles important (to me) life’s subjects and is always deep, sometimes raw, and frequently laugh out loud funny. I feel like I am listening in on a loving family and I get to be the fly on the wall. I love to talk to friends who also listen to the podcast and know we can solve all the world's problems by really listening to each other.

Music: Mayor Hawthorn

Modern Motown vibes that lift my soul! Great background music for a dinner party or for listening closely to learn the words. Question… is there such a thing as modern nostalgia? Put him on your music channel rotation and you will not be sorry!

Netflix: Love on the Spectrum

So well done! Gives me a peek into the lives of those on all ends of the Autism spectrum and the search for love. I love the humanity and how uplifted I feel after watching.

--

--