Pam’s Top 5 for 2022

A lobster and (not in) a pool

Pam roach
FridaySwell
3 min readDec 28, 2022

--

In no particular order……

Road Trip

5. I’m starting with the bucket list road trip (actually I have never met a road trip i didn’t like; grew up on them and love them to this day!) First stop; Winslow AZ, because “I’m standing on a corner in Winslow Arizona, such a fine sight to see. It’s a girl my lord in a flat bed ford slowing down to take a look at me.” I LOVE the Eagles! So many memories. Takes me back to high school, when I KNEW I had life figured out! Next stop was the WigWam Motel on route 66. If you ever have the opportunity to stay the night, I HIGHLY recommend it! Best nights sleep! the room rumbles as the train goes by, but you don’t hear the train!

Driving along route 66 was pretty amazing and kind of sad. So many abandon motor lodges. It’s surprising the number of these abandon business, which at one time were in need due to the shear volume of people traveling from east to west. Petrified Forest NP; AMAZEBALLS.

This should be on everyone’s bucket list. GO!

Quick stop in Thoreau, NM at the Continental Divide Official Scientific Historical Marker; “Rainfall divides at this point. To the west it drains into the Pacific Ocean, to the east, into the Atlantic.” On to Albuquerque NM (isn’t this where Bugs Bunny ALWAYS took a wrong turn?), then Carlsbad Caverns NP. Again, AMAZEBALLS! GO! Last stop was Bisbee AZ. Fun quirky town in southern AZ. Old copper mining town built in a narrow valley. If you like to run stairs, this is the spot for you. Bisbee 1000, the great stair climb happens every October.

Digging our pool.

4. We are pool people. We have lived in our house for 20+ years. We have wanted a pool for 20+ years. It’s freaking HOT here. Pool was filled in July. Brennan and Tommy had 3 hoses in the pool and were on floaties drinking cocktails while it filled (took about 4 hours!) Have had multiple pool parties, including 23 Roaches! Sunset jacuzzies, warm summer night swims! Best thing we ever did was get a pool. LOVE IT!

Joshua Tree

3. This is my Beatles birthday year (side 2, second song, Stg Peppers.) We took a trip to Joshua Tree NP (Yep, we have a NP park pass!) and when I say “we” I mean Tommy, Me, Maddie, Brennan, Adam, Isabel (Adam’s mom) and Dale (Adam’s dad). Best birthday gift ever to have us all together! I’m so happy Maddie is living her best life with Adam in Chicago, but MAN, I miss her!

The Lobster Fisherman Paramedic

2.Brennan was accepted to Paramedic school. This is a big deal; very long and competitive process. He amazes me with his drive to help others by being a paramedic. He is such a kind, caring, gentle person. So impressed by him. LOBSTERS! Brennan is a lobster grabber!! He has gotten over the “ick” factor and the lobsters are flowing! He recently starting using “bug gloves” and THEY WORK! All I can say is YUM!!

Thomas

1.Thomas: 39+ years and he STILL makes me laugh until I cry! nuff’ said.

The author, checking Tommy’s armpits for smells

--

--