Tom’s Top Jams For 2022

The genre that gave me 5 new songs this year

Tom Hilzer
FridaySwell
4 min readDec 31, 2022

--

I won’t lie, I’m kind of glad 2021 is behind us and I can talk about 2022. There was a lot to enjoy this year including family trips to Mammoth and Sedona, a 30th wedding anniversary and lots of Pickleball.

My top 5 for this year is all music around a new genre that I stumbled onto on Spotify called “Jam Music”. As with most genres it encompasses a broad spectrum of musical styles. If I were to describe it in a few words it would be “progressive rock”, “blues” and “bluesy funk”. A bit of a departure from one of my all-time favorites, Jack White.

Trip The Witch

Band: Trip the Witch / Song: We Lived Here

1.This is the band that Spotify suggested one day that got me listening to this genre. It’s a partnership between the guitar player for the Stone Temple Pilots, Dean DeLeo and arguably the best session guitar player in Nashville today, Tom Bukovac, who has played on something like 800 albums in his career. The album is pretty much guitar driven instrumentals where DeLeo and Bukovac put on a master class in dynamics, cools sounds and fantastic licks.

“We Lived Here” to me is the signature song on the album starting with an interesting mellow beginning and leading into a call and answer guitar lick that makes me smile every time. The shift in key, dynamics, and chord patterns is, for a guitar player, a wonder to listen to. Add this to the fact that the two guitar players were never in the same room together when they made the record. They sent the demos of the songs back and forth and worked on them in their separate homes. Apparently as of this writing, they have still never met in person. You would never know listening to the songs on this record. Spotify Link

Tedeschi Trucks

Band: Tedeschi Trucks Band / Song: Soul Sweet Song

2.This song features wife Susan Tedeschi on vocals and husband Derek Trucks on lead guitar. It’s a classic bluesy song that captures the soulfulness of losing someone either to death or otherwise and the hope of seeing them in other ways in the world. The chorus is “Now there’s no use, whishin’ for your sweet return, ‘ Cause I see you in the morning’ sun, And I hear you on the whispering wind, and I feel our rhythm movin’ me, Cause your soul’s sweet song’s still singin’.” Spotify Link

Goose / Song: Hungersite

Band: Goose / Song: Hungersite

3.I had not heard of this band before 2022, but searching on YouTube indicates that they have a rather large following. The vibe of this song and guitar hook is so cool not to mention the bongo drums in the beginning. And the lyrics are right in line with my mindset these days. The chorus is: “Is it time to shed our weapons yet my friend? Is it love we’ve drawn away in our groundless low? Can we step out of the wreckage yet my friend? Running all against their hungry sight. Hanging on, they’ve taken all. But we won’t lay that down.” Spotify Link

Zach Nugent

Band: Zach Nugent / Song: Trouble Oversight

4.This song has such a great groove to it and is just plain fun to listen to. The opening guitar lick and keyboard sound makes me close my eyes and wish I was in a small club playing with friends. Spotify Link

Artist: Pierre Bensusan / Song: Silent Passenger (To Allen Greenall)

5.I changed my role at work this year and I needed to concentrate more than I’ve had to for a while. Songs like this one helped me to appreciate the power of music to help me focus. Not to mention the incredibly talented guitar players that are out there. Spotify Link

Preview links to all songs below

--

--