Setting the stage.

Meghan Britton-Gross
The Andrew Project
Published in
7 min readApr 27, 2015

--

Exit Stage Left

On May 1, 1992, my seven-year-old brother was crossing the street to get the mail. He stepped off of the school bus, crossed the road, and was hit by a pick-up truck. He did not live. I was three weeks away from my 13th birthday.

My hope for this blog is not to gain sympathy. Crap happens (good things happen too.) The goal of this blog is to help other siblings with their loss and know that they are not alone. When lives are snuffed out before their time, the parents are the primary focus. I’m a parent now. I understand that. There are others that suffer as well though.

Here’s how the events unfolded…

It was a pretty windy first day of May. I was jumping on a bus headed home full of excitement. My friend Lisa was having her 13th birthday party that night and our group of friends were going to a slumber party at her house. As the bus headed towards home, we saw an ambulance on the side of the road.

I turned to my friend, Molly, and said,
“Wouldn’t it be weird if I knew that person?”
Turns out that I did.

The bus continued its route and as it continued around the curve to my house, I saw police cars. As I got off of the bus I was greeted by our pastor. I remember the…

--

--

Meghan Britton-Gross
The Andrew Project

Mother of two lovely girls, wife to one lovely husband. I write about sibling loss and grief. Visit my site TheAndrewProject.online.