Finding the Perfect Dress for My Son’s Wedding: A Mother of the Groom Journey

Janice Schroeder
From Carbs To Keto
Published in
4 min readJul 12, 2024

My son is getting married in October, which means, I had to do something I absolutely dread; I had to shop for a dress.

I haven’t worn a dress since 2016, on my cruise to Hawaii; and those were casual dresses. I had put it off as long as I could, I would have to bite the bullet.

I have lost some weight on keto, but it’s slow going with Hashimoto’s. I had to find something that fit, that was flattering, within my budget, and that I liked. It was a tall order. The dress couldn’t be white, black or rust color (the same as the bridesmaids dresses). This significantly narrowed down the field.

I started at a local consignment shop. The owner took me downstairs to where the bigger sizes were. I figured I am about a 16–18, although this can vary with special occasion dresses. I looked through the rack (yes one) and my eye immediately was drawn to a burgundy colored dress. It was lace, and it had sparkles. I pulled a couple other ones off the rack too, just for comparison. I was a size 18W, and it fit perfectly. It was stunning. None of the others compared. But as it turned out, it was not the dress I would end up with.

I inadvertently bought the same color dress as the bride’s mother. Oops! Traditionally, the mother of the bride and the mother of the groom wear different colors. You don’t want to be twinsies. We put our heads together and came up with a solution we could all live with, I would try to find another dress, and I would be compensated for the one I had bought. I would also reconsign it. I couldn’t promise that I would find another dress. Luck would really have to be with me.

So off I went to David’s Bridal. I had bought my wedding dress there (different location) 25 years ago when I married my husband. They are always really nice and helpful. Once I got there, I started looking at options. Now it couldn’t be red either. Unfortunately, the higher your size, the less options you have. I was looking for a similar dress if I could find it. I asked it they had the same dress in a different color; they no longer carried it. So I walked up and down the few racks that had something my size, the right color, and didn’t break the bank (it was a David’s Bridal dress). I came up with four options. Yes, four. This sucks, I thought. My eye caught a light grey lace, sparkly dress, and it came in my size! I didn’t really care for any others that I saw. I tried it on, and it looked great, it fit well, and I really liked it!

I tried on two others at the insistence of the sales lady ( I had seen them, and didn’t really care for them). I figured, okay I will give them a chance. I tried on a dark blue chiffon dress, which I didn’t really like, and another light gray dress, which I didn’t like either. I ended up getting the first gray lace dress. I made sure the bride ok’d it. She loved it.

I was really lucky to find two stunning dresses. It kind of bugs me that larger women don’t have the clothing options that smaller women do, especially when it comes to special occasions. I will also have to keep my weight steady, which is not a small thing. I will be having the dress altered, but I don’t want to lose too much weight. I can’t really gain either, as the dress is snug.

I have switched to weight maintenance for now, until this wedding is over. I think I will also be walking the treadmill a bit more. I am looking forward to this wedding. It’s so weird being the mother of the groom and not the bride. But I’m sure it will be a great day. As for what I will eat at the wedding, that’s a story for another post.

Writer, blogger and 60 something housewife who is exploring the keto diet. Follow me on my journey of discovery. View all posts by Janice Schroeder

Originally published at https://fromcarbstoketo.com on July 12, 2024.

--

--