The Impact of Corporate Takeover on Healthcare: My Hypothyroid Journey

Janice Schroeder
From Carbs To Keto
Published in
6 min readSep 12, 2024

When I first started my keto journey, I knew that I would probably need medication for my hypothyroid. I did not take that fact lightly; I did plenty of research into the pros and cons.

I also knew that I would need to be closely monitored while titrating up to the right dosage of levothyroxine. I chose to let my local GP (I’ll call him Dr. J.) to be the one to do it. We have always thought very highly of him. Not only is his office convenient (it is right next door to us) but they have always been on top of their game. That is until about two years ago, when they were taken over by a corporation.

I still chose Dr. J. because he is kind, caring and genuinely interested in each and every patient. Sometimes this means he runs very late, but it is usually worth the wait, as he doesn’t rush you out of the office. Unfortunately, since this corporation took over his practice, he is spread way too thin; and it is beginning to show. They are woefully understaffed; and the attention to detail that once sold us on this practice is now beginning to show cracks.

When I first went to him back in May, he is the one that finally did the necessary bloodwork to prove what I had known for many years; that I had Hashimoto’s. He also talked with me in length about starting medication, and starting me at a low dose of 25 mcg. You might be wondering why I didn’t go to an endocrinologist. Not only had I read that most of them start you on too high of a dose of medication, but the reviews of the local doctors were not exactly stellar either. I read reviews that said people couldn’t get in touch to get their medication refilled. So I went with a doctor who cares and that I really respect.

A few weeks ago, I was due for follow-up bloodwork, and an appointment to see Dr. J. a week later. I got a phone call telling me my appointment was cancelled and that the first available appointment was for the following month. Since I was supposed to have my blood work checked three months after starting my first dose of medication, I was a little annoyed. But I went in a few days later to get the order. It seems that if they send it electronically to the lab (in the same building) they say they never got it (another issue that has supposedly been corrected over and over but hasn’t).

When I went into the office, there was only one person at the front desk taking calls and checking patients in and out. I told her I was there to get my order for blood work, only to find that it had never been ordered. The receptionist called the nurse, who put the order in. I was told to wait. Twenty minutes later, I got up to ask what was taking so long. The receptionist went back to check. She came out and handed me the order. I was going to my car, and I checked the order (luckily I know what blood work I need, most people don’t). I knew I needed a thyroid panel, cholesterol and blood sugar. The order they gave me was completely generic; for routine blood work. I went back in and told the receptionist. She called the nurse. I told her, tell the nurse to order the same blood work as the last time. Another twenty minutes went by. The nurse came out this time, holding the blood work order. She seemed annoyed. She said, “I ordered the same blood work.” I thanked her, even though I was now really irritated, and left. I saw the thyroid panel, but should have looked closer. I also saw that she had ordered cholesterol and blood sugar testing.

Once I got the results, I realized that she had left off a crucial thyroid antibody test (there are two of them; only one was ordered). Instead of ordering Free TSH to F4, she ordered TSH (I have never been tested for that, so it was useless). By leaving it to the nurse, who is untrained, I have no idea whether this medication is working properly or not. I am not blaming her. I am blaming the doctor who completely dropped the ball.

Since my appointment which was moved up was to talk to the doctor about upping my dosage to 50 mcg. (the medication stopped working, as my body became acclimated) I had now been on the lower dosage longer than the three months that is recommended. I sent the Dr. a message on the patient portal last week, as I didn’t want to wait to change my dosage (and I didn’t want to do it myself without supervision). It took three days to get an answer (over the Labor Day holiday; God forbid I needed something done). He said to double my 25 mcg for now. I have a telemed appointment with him tomorrow. When I got the reminder, it said to be in the office a half hour early (ha,right!). I called this morning, only to get put immediately on hold. It took three tries for someone to actually answer the phone and tell me; “the reminders don’t differentiate.” Umm, okay, I’m supposed to assume that. Then I asked about what time I will be called and she said, “around your appointment time, unless he is running late.” Uh oh…. looks like I’ll be spending an hour on hold.

My reason for writing this post is not only am I aggravated and frustrated with the utter lack of regard for my valuable time, and the fact that it is almost impossible to see a real doctor now (most only offer Nurse Practitioners and Physician’s Assistants appointments), but I am sick and tired of being sick and tired. I know I am not alone. We are lucky to have excellent insurance (not everyone is that fortunate) but the premiums are putting us in the poor house. People are at a breaking point and at the point of bankruptcy. People can’t afford their medications; it’s either fill them, eat or pay rent.

I usually avoid going to the doctor for the very reasons that I just wrote about. Long waits, high cost and disregard for my valuable time and my health. The capitalization of modern medicine is killing us all. My hope for the future is that we will wake up as a nation and fight for our right to be well. In the meantime, I will continue to see Dr. J. It isn’t really his fault. He has said he is not happy that a corporation took over his practice. He does the best he can with what he has to work with. I will continue on levothyroxine, but I will be my own advocate. The bottom line is that we have to stand up for ourselves as patients, and as people.

Writer, blogger and 60 something housewife who is exploring the keto diet. Follow me on my journey of discovery. View all posts by Janice Schroeder

Originally published at http://fromcarbstoketo.wordpress.com on September 12, 2024.

--

--