https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9r5P1z4OWWo

Brexit and the US — comparable situations!?

Katrin
From Empire to Europe

--

When I searched for more information about the Brexit and its future now that Boris Johnson has resigned, I found this interesting video of Samantha Bee on YouTube. The video made me laugh and I think she made a quite good comparison between the British and the American situation. I like her way of comparing the EU referendum and the presidential elections in November. She invites Americans to vote so that they won’t be surprised by the results because most of them actually will have voted (as it is now the case for some British people who want another Referendum).

But what I found quite striking were the comments I found posted below this video. Many British expressed their anger about such a comedy accusing Smantha Bee of not understanding their situation and of drawing inappropriate parallels between Britain and the US. Here you can read some of their comments:

I really like the discussion they started because that is exactly what such comedy wants to provoke. So, I guess, Samantha has finally reached her aim to make people talk about the issue and also to make them talk about the elections in the US in order to induce Americans to make up their mind and to go voting so that Trump does not win the election because Britain has shown that the impossible may happen.

I really recommend to watch the video and to read the contributions below. If you like, you can leave your own opinion in a response to my comment. I would really appreciate that. So, have fun and enjoy watching and reading.

--

--