Final Post

Learning Through Reflection

Tine Kolb
From Empire to Europe
2 min readJul 8, 2016

--

As my classmates have already posted great reflections on the seminar topic “From Empire to Europe” I also want to share my reflection about publishing posts on Medium.

At the beginning, when we were supposed to write weekly posts, I am honest, I was not really motivated in writing. But my motivation changes during the course. While writing short texts on a specific topic, it helps you to reflect about certain issues and it maybe helps you to understand complex topics even better. It is much easier writing non-academic posts by including social material, YouTube videos, pictures, statistics, etc. At the beginning of the seminar, we learned many historical facts about Europe, India and Africa during the British Empire. In times of the referendum, I had the feeling that many students liked discussing about this theme. Because of the Brexit referendum, you stay up to date by reading posts of your classmates. During the seminar, many complex topics were mentioned. With help of additional research, my own reflections and the writing about it, I understand many things better. By using Medium as a communication platform, we as students have the opportunity to discuss and question articles and certain themes. Students included personal experiences, opinions and photos in their posts – that was really interesting to me.

“Reflection involves linking a current experience to previous learnings.” – by Arthur L. Costa & Bena Kallick

--

--