From Empire to Europe

Joyce Timmers
From Empire to Europe
1 min readJul 12, 2016

At the beginning of this semester I thought the course description sounded quite interesting. I was looking forward to a class which would refresh my knowledge and give me all the details about the British Empire and how it transformed itself to what it is today. However, after I saw that we had to write a blogpost every fortnight to fulfil the requirement for this class, I was less delighted. I’m quite interested in history, but I wouldn’t claim to have big knowledge about it.

However, I have to admit that it was actually interesting to do the research for a new blogpost- topic and even to write it. Sure, I still had issues to motivate myself, but once started it was actually fun to do it. Realising how quick and easy it can be to gain knowledge about a certain topic, it was almost painless to write the posts.

Especially concerning the whole Brexit aspect; it was great to follow it both ways, privately and in class.

While looking for a new article I could use for the next blogpost I found many other really interesting information. Even though most of them were not relevant for the specific topic I chose to write about, they still managed to catch my interest and often I even continued reading and doing further research.

So in short, I have to admit that I was surprised: negatively by the decision of the referendum and positively by the outcome of this course in general.

--

--