Malta- British heritage or a second ‘Mallorca’?

Alessa Günther
From Empire to Europe
2 min readApr 26, 2016

When I was a teenager, I spent two weeks in Malta for a language school vacation. Since this Island was part of the British Empire until 1964, I expected it to be British in some way. So I was hoping to see places, things or habits that give me the feeling to be not on a mediterrenean Island. But in fact, only little small hints of the British Empire were visible in my everyday life, like, for example, the little red letter or phone boxes.

The architecture itself, did not seem British for me, as, for example, in Singapur. The colonial style reminded me more of Spain, so that one had the feeling one to be in ‘Las Palmas’ ect. Also the way of living seems more southern than British, because a lot of shops close or everything goes a little bit “slower”. For me personally, this is the southern/mediterrenean way of life, but I would not assign these habits as British heritage. Additionally all the street and city names are in Maltese, exept for St. Julians which is the most touristic part of the Island. The form of tourism also reminded me more of a second ‘Mallorca’ that of Britian. While ‘British feel’ is not to be found in this form of tourism, I never had the feeling that Malta still is a authentic representative of the British Commonwealth. The only British heritage which is clearly audible is, of course, the language itself. This may seem the most ‘British thing’ about Malta. Besides this fact, the Island and its tourism shows a lot of similarities to, for example, Mallorca. Besided its great offers of language courses, the (mostly) young visitors have only one aim- to go out and have a good time!

(Of course this opinion is only based on my own experiences and sensations. I am also willing to be convinced from opposite opinions of Malta.)

--

--