Reflection on “From Empire to Europe”

Maike Hörstmann
From Empire to Europe
2 min readJul 10, 2016

The first thing to catch my eye when reading the course outline was that we would have to write a blog. Writing a blog was never something I would have done just for fun in my free time. When I discovered that writing a blog was one of the requirements for this class, it really kind of intimidated me at first. Then the first blog week came and then the next and so on … and I noticed it can be actually fun once you find a topic that is of interest for you. So in the end I can say: blogging really isn’t that scary.

During the semester, I learned a lot of new things.
I liked how the course drew a line through British history. Due to my relatively little knowledge about the British Empire in the beginning of the course, I got a lot of new information.
In my other cultural studies courses I learned things about the history of Great Britian but rather in the direction of which king lived when and so on, but never really much about the British Empire.
Another thing I take out of this course is: The more I know about history, the more I understand the present.
I’m glad that I have attended the course this semester. If it hadn’t been that way, I ,for sure, would not have had the background knowledge concerning the referendum as I do have now.
The content of the class, the discussion with the others and the blog writing enabled me to widen my horizon.

Overall, I take a lot of knowledge and new experiences out of this course. I will see history as a part of our present from now on.

--

--