Reflection Post

Britta H
From Empire to Europe
1 min readJul 11, 2016

To be honest, during my entire school life, I never really liked history. I guess my teacher also wasn’t really the best, not being able to mediate his enthusiasm for history to his class. However, starting my studies in English at University, I quickly understood that there are several classes which are also concerned with historical topics. For the first time, I had different teachers and professors trying to set me up with history. To my own suprise, this they actually managed to arouse my interest-most of the time.

Beginning this Cultural Studies course at the beginning of the semester, I just thought about another round of history. However, I really liked how current themes, especially Brexit etc., where integrated into the course. Thus, it was able to also understand the dark sides of the history of the British Empire, which I usually forgot about. We were able to compare historical events to the situation today, making it an authentic and enjoyable class.

Although the blog posts involved some work, I really think that they helped to deal with the current topics discussed in class. Like this, everybody was able to write something about his or her opinion concerning themes discussed in class, or even something no one would have expected.

All in all I liked the course and I think that I learnt a lot about the British Empire to Europe- or to whatever it is today! :)

--

--