#5Things With Umang Bedi, President, Daily Hunt

Aashna Ahuja
From LBB
Published in
2 min readApr 10, 2019

We’re kickstarting a new series, #5Things to get you highly effective tips from the best in the biz. This week, we spoke with Umang Bedi, President, Daily Hunt and Former Managing Director, Facebook India & South Asia.

1. A book every manager should read & why?

How Will You Measure Your Life” by Clayton Christensen - someone I consider the God of Disruptive Innovation. This is one book that should be on everyone’s (and not just a manager’s) Kindle or bookshelf. This book helps you realise how warped your values and strategies are + how you can align your actions to what you want to accomplish in life.

2. 3 people we should follow on Twitter?

  • Anand Mahindra for his astute business acumen. Despite being a corporate tycoon, he always has his finger on the pulse of the nation and it shines through his tweets. His #WhatsAppWonderBox is a personal favourite!
  • Elon Musk for continuously pushing the boundaries of what we think possible as a race (and cracking the occasional joke). What I find refreshing is that he isn’t afraid of some self-deprecating humour at times! Who can forget the Flame throwers for the Zombie Apocalypse!?
  • Sundar Pichai for his unique perspective on things around us and to get a glimpse on what Alphabet is upto around the world

3. Who’s been your mentor/advisor?

My advisors would be my trusted board of directors in the form of my Aspen Global Leadership Network and my YPO forum. I seek inspiration at all levels though and totally believe in the concept of reverse mentoring. There’s so much to learn from everyone.

4. A podcast you highly recommend?

I love listening to podcasts whenever I’m on the move and am a big fan of Serial. This thrilling, true crime, investigative journalism podcast was my gateway into the world of podcasts and I love it for its gritty narrative + how it allows you to play detective as the case unravels.

5. A practise that’s made you better at what you do?

Hitting the gym in the AM every. single. day. I find waking up early for an HIIT workout super cathartic — working out at high intensity and pushing myself past what I thought possible gives me the motivation to tackle the day. Once I’ve completed my quota of sprints, squats, burpees, push-ups, pull-ups — everything else that the day throws at me is a cinch!

Who do you want us to reach out to next? Tell us in the comments below👇

--

--