Time

A sun dial
Photo by author

Time is racing by,

A runner on a track,

Trying too hard to regain lost time.

Are you like an ogre at his table of waste,

Gobbling the fruits of time,

Making nothing of them but

A frenzy of gluttony?

Or are you like the gourmet at a well laid table,

With the choicest menu in your hands,

Delighting in every hour,

Savouring each minute,

Lingering over each second,

Tasting not wasting.

I wrote this when I was about thirteen or fourteen and it is still one of my favourites. It always reminds me to stop and appreciate the many beautiful things of life.

--

--

LexiReap
From My Broken Heart to Yours

Artist, art historian, and all-round deep thinker. I know the world is better when we are kind to one another. It is the one thing we all have the power to do.