INTRODUCTION

Graeme McNee
From Sand To Sky
2 min readAug 17, 2017

--

Today I started my new series From Sand To Sky. This is an ongoing series of stories and drawings about people living on the Island Of Caorainn, in the West Coast of Scotland. The series starts in a very dark place, perhaps one of the darkest places possible, but hopefully it will get a little lighter from there.

I started work on this series about three years ago. Most of that time has been spent world-building and mapping out the family trees and histories of all the people on the island. I filled a big leather-bound book with various drafts and sketches of the key moments in their lives. It’s only recently I felt it was time to finally start drawing them out on paper. I know the beginning of this story, and I know the very end. There are a few key points I intend to hit along the way, but most of the series will be dedicated to exploring those unexpected empty spaces and quiet moments that are only suggested as you finish each page.

I intend to add new episodes to the website every two months or so. I will celebrate each episode with a series of three new prints and drawings. I will then select six of my favourite hand-drawn pages to sell in the shop. Later on, I intend to make a few old-fashioned paper zines containing background information and short episodes not featured online.

I will track the development of the series on this blog. Mostly I will talk about the process of making each episode and developing the mythology of the island and the series. You can follow this blog here on Medium, or on the From Sand To Sky website. I’ll also post links to each new entry on the various social media accounts. A summary of all the posts between the episodes will be added to the end of the From Sand To Sky Newsletter, which you can sign up for here.

That’s all for the introduction. Thank you for taking the time to read this post, and hopefully for exploring the rest of the site and episodes too!

GM 2017.08.17

--

--