Should “Real-World” Money Management be Taught in Our Schools?

I suck at money management. OK, I said it!

Michael Thacker
From the Desk of Michael Thacker

--

A collection of U.S. currency, five dollar, twenty dollar and five dollar bills on a wood table with shadows over them
Photo by Live Richer on Unsplash

The other night I was reading an article here on Medium, in which the author was writing about philosophy.

He posed the question if we thought that philosophy should again be taught in our public school system?

Speaking to the fact that he thought philosophy so that our youth could be more well rounded on the thinking and the lessons of past generations.

I answered in the affirmative on his question. Then I added that I also thought that “real-world” money management should be taught in schools also.

At the time I even surprised myself that I would answer it that way because I hadn’t given it that much thought before.

Yet this morning when I was re-reading the article, and the comments received other than mine it got me thinking. Was I right? Would that have helped me?

In my case, I went to the public schools here in Kentucky where I live.

I was fortunate that I was able to go to school in a county that has some of the highest-rated schools in the state.

Even today all these decades later the school system in that county is still very highly sought after for people…

--

--