Am I a Hypocrite for Supporting Palestine?

A colonist knows colonialism when they see it

Dave Gutteridge
From the Gutt

--

I come from a country where the native population is currently being harassed off land by an occupying power. There are special units tasked with carrying this out, using military weapons and tactics.

Not Israel. Canada. Specifically in British Columbia. There, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the RCMP, have a unit called the Community-Industry Response Group, or C-IRG. It sounds innocuous, kind of like some civic outreach group or corporate liaison or something. In actuality, they’ll use a chainsaw to destroy your encampment while they hold you at gunpoint.

A doorway being taken apart by an unseen RCMP officer using a chainsaw, while another RCMP officer holds people inside at gunpoint.
It’s a little hard to see, but that’s a chainsaw being used to destroy a doorway, while a C-IRG officer holds a gun up to the people inside.

That is, if you’re a First Nations person trying to defend your territory.

I’m against these actions, just as I’m against what Israel is currently doing in Gaza, and has done against the Palestinian people for decades. I have a similar stance against what the Chinese are doing to the Uyghers. And so on, with the Rohyinga, Tibetans, Yemeni… I don’t know… people in Tigray and the Congo…? I don’t claim to be an expert in all the affairs of the world, but I aspire to be on the side of the oppressed…

--

--

Dave Gutteridge
From the Gutt

I don't post often because I think about what I write. Topics include ethics, relationships, and philosophy.