How to Actually Get Rid of the Monarchy in Canada

It would be super easy, barely an inconvenience

Dave Gutteridge
From the Gutt

--

King Chuck.
Behold, Canada, your new leader, whether you like it or not.

The monarchy stands for everything that I think Canada shouldn’t. Inherited privilege, institutionalized nepotism, unaddressed complicated history, and more. It is, by definition, an anti-democratic institution, and I don’t think that’s a good look for Canada. We’re a democracy* with an asterisk.

*Actual head of state is not democratically elected.

But, I’ll have to admit that many of the people who tell me that it’s not worth trying to remove the monarchy are right. Canada is overall politically stable, arguably better than a lot of democracies without a monarchy. See: Bulgaria.

Canada could stand to become more democratic, but if we want to do that, there are much bigger and better issues to tackle with far more return on the effort.

The implementation of ranked voting would be my top choice. Remember when Castro’s son promised in a tweet that he would end first-past-the-post voting? Good times.

After that, I’d also like to see the end of, or at least much more curtailment of, financial lobbying. Then there’s a whole list of other things that I think could and should be done before the monarchy is addressed.

--

--

Dave Gutteridge
From the Gutt

I don't post often because I think about what I write. Topics include ethics, relationships, and philosophy.