Recipe: A Boozy January Treat

For a Taste of Summer in the Dead of Winter.

Philip Crawford
From The Horse’s Mouth
5 min readJan 30, 2024

--

If you are anything like me, you have spent the last few weeks indoors anxiously awaiting those beautiful summer nights that we all took advantage of only five months ago. The warm summer breeze dancing across your sunburnt face. The fresh, crisp watermelon, whose juices carve their way through every wrinkle in your cheek as they drip their way onto your thin, cotton shirt. The memories made with friends and family around the crackling fire on long summer nights. If you find yourself craving a taste of summer during this bitter January, then turn up your thermostat, put on your flip-flops, and try this delightful Boozy January Treat!

My “Why”

I was born into a large midwestern family that valued three things: Family, God, and a Full Stomach. Growing up on the “farm”, I knew the importance of food from before I could talk (farm is in quotes because technically we just had a large back yard, and technically the only thing we ever successfully grew were weeds! XD But if you ask me, two dogs, three cats, six siblings, and a half acre of land is a farm as far as I am concerned).

Last surviving image of my family.

Being raised around good food was, of course, a blessing, but it wasn’t until Todd Neilson stood me up for Junior Prom and my mother let me try my first taste of alcohol that I truly fell in love with the concept of “flavor”.

You see, for the first sixteen-and-a-half years of my life, the idea of “flavor” was like a best friend who lived right down the street. I saw her everyday and she always brought a smile to my face. The day I was introduced to the idea of alcohol paired with food; however, “flavor” was no longer a friend down the street. “Flavor” moved into our spare bedroom. “Flavor” shot glances at me across the kitchen table. “Flavor” waited until my parents were asleep and crept into my bed.

I couldn’t waste another night on this earth not lying next to you”, she said, coddling up to me as the moonlight pierced through the cracks in the curtains. We fell asleep rather quickly.

“Flavor” woke me up at 2:30 in the morning.

You had another nightmare,” she said.

In my half-awakened state, all I could muster was a quiet “I did?”

Silence flooded the room. The air was harsh, and my mouth as dry as sandpaper. Just as I was building the courage to apologize for waking “flavor”, she kissed me. Softly. Deeply. Passionately. The kiss wasn’t sexual, it was simply knowing. The kiss said I am here, and you are here, and we are here, together.

That night (and every night for the rest of that far-too-short summer), “flavor” made love to me. She held me tight, stared deep into my soul, and taught me how to fully give myself over to another.

Ever since that summer, I have spent countless hours crafting and perfecting food and drink recipes. Trying unlikely, yet delicious combinations, all while creating lifelong memories with every person I get the opportunity to share this passion with.

That is why I made this recipe and that is why I do what I do!

Possible Pairings

One thing about me: I love a basic meal. I don’t need a five-star, gourmet, napkin-in-your-lap kind of dinner. All I need is a tasty plate of food and a (strong) drink to go with it. Being intentional with your food and drink pairings should be for everyone, not just the elite.

For this recipe, I have two pairing recommendations. One is better for slightly more advanced chefs who seek a challenge, and the other is for anyone who can read! XD

Option One:

A Maple-Glazed Duck Confit with Oven-Roasted Rainbow Carrots and Rosemary Riced Cauliflower

Indulge in our Maple-Glazed Duck Confit, a culinary masterpiece with tender duck confit, sweet maple glaze, and a side of oven-roasted rainbow carrots over rosemary-infused riced cauliflower. This dish perfectly balances vibrant flavors and textures, embodying and delivering a delightful dining experience.

Okay, I know what you’re thinking: You just told us food and drink pairings can work for easy dishes and then you gave us a super hard one!

Fear not, that is why I have two options for you! This next option, in my opinion, has a slightly more complimentary flavor profile (in terms of pairing with our drink), but that, again, is simply my opinion.

Option 2:

A Maple-Glazed Duck Confit with Oven-Roasted Rainbow Carrots and Riced Cauliflower

Duckie with mapley goodness, crunchy carrots, and fluffy cauliflower. Yum-yum in tummy, quack-quack taste. Carrots go crispy, cauliflower rice with magic dance. Mouth party, easy munch, baby giggles, so, so good, like a happy cloud of flavor! Woo-hoo!

This is what I like to call our “Ratatouille” option (it uses the “Anyone can cook” philosophy because it is so easy! XD). Think you can’t cook? Think again! This easy recipe makes filling a cup of water seem hard 🤣

Whichever recipe you choose for this pairing, just remember: all of this isn’t about the food, nor is it about the drinks. Rather, it’s about who you share them with. Once that piece of the puzzle is in place, then you can allow the recipe to do its thing!

Why This Recipe Works

This recipe works in two different ways:

First, it can be made in any kitchen in America. It doesn’t need any fancy glasses or bartender doo-dads. All it needs is someone who wants a strong, delicious, summer-y drink.

And second, it tastes damn good! XD The crispness of this drink can only be compared to how it feels walking in your air-conditioned house after a long day of playing with your green toy in the hot summer sun.

I don’t know what else to tell you, this recipe just works!

The Recipe

Finally, embark on a gastronomic journey where the fusion of distinct elements transcends culinary norms, inviting you to savor a symphony of flavors that dance on the palate. In this refined culinary exploration, seemingly contrasting components unite to create a delightful elixir, teasing the senses and promising an experience beyond the ordinary.

As you prepare to unveil the mystery of this avant-garde creation, prepare your taste buds for an unexpected yet harmonious blend that elevates the art of gastronomy to new heights.

Ingredients

  • Beer
  • Milk

Instructions

  1. Mix

Now sit back, enjoy, and try not to cum.

--

--