Book Review: On Writing by Stephen King

Charlene DeKalb
From the Library
Published in
3 min readMar 26, 2020

--

Stephen King’s incredible memoir was published back in 2000, and it has taken me this long to finally read it. Given how much praise I’ve heard about “On Writing”, I don’t know why I didn’t pick it up sooner, but I’m happy to say it’s absolutely worth the read. Even for those who are not interested in writing novels, or becoming a freelance writer, the insight King has into how to craft stories is incredible. Just as a reader I feel there is some benefit in understanding how effective storytelling can be.

I’m not a huge fan of Stephen King’s work (I’ve only read a couple of his novels) so before picking up this book, I wasn’t sure what to expect from this memoir. But this work has impressed on me his talent and his awareness of the craft — because he has so winningly and clearly distilled what goes into being a successful writer.

In the first part of the memoir, Stephen King details his childhood and some of the influences in his life that led to him becoming an author. It was a fascinating section because the way he talked about his influences showed me what draws someone to reading and writing. I identified with King’s experiences wanting to create and his upbringing as a boy just beginning to enjoy television and new kinds of media. Although he seemed more mischievous as a child than I ever was.

--

--

Charlene DeKalb
From the Library

I’m a research scientist who still likes to write for fun. Looking for adventure in the great wide somewhere. Reader, traveler, & Disney enthusiast. @chardekalb