Is Your Reading List Too Much in Your Comfort Zone?

Rachella Angel Page
From the Library
Published in
4 min readJun 11, 2021

Tips to create a list that ensures variety.

Photo by Eliabe Costa on Unsplash

Is your reading list playing it too safe?

Do you see the same type of books and materials every time you look at it?

Do you want to add more variety?

For years after college, I only read in one genre.

I was playing it too safe and I wasn’t trying to grow as a reader.

I figured I had done the variety route long enough as an English major. I was going to read the type of books I enjoyed most and just stick with that as a steady diet.

However, much like eating the same thing every day, I eventually grew tired of looking at the same thing.

I wanted the mental and emotional growth that came from experimenting with different types of books.

Reading is an oasis and escape from everyday life. However, it presents a wealth of information, teaches new things, inspires you to change, and entertains.

I wanted different viewpoints to challenge my own assumptions. I wanted to read inspiring self-help books and biographies.

When I started to branch out in my reading, these are a few of the routes I took to ensure new material was coming my way.

Participate in a yearly reading challenge with prompts

Yearly challenges are designed with variety in mind. They ensure that the participant will read widely. While there are well-known challenges like Popsugar and Goodreads groups, there are also bingo cards on Pinterest that will serve the same purpose.

Go outside of your comfort zone

What is the one genre you always stay away from? Would you be willing to try just one book within that genre? By trying one book, it’s an experiment. It leads to asking if it’s that bad or maybe we just have wrong assumptions about it.

While I was trying to diversify, I borrowed a copy of The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks from a friend’s shelf. I’m not at all a fan of romance. However, I found it to be enjoyable as a one-time-only deal. While it confirmed my personal bias against romance, it was still an experience.

Browse the new release section of the library

The new release section is likely to have the largest variety organized in an eyecatching way.

While looking for your favorite topic, it’s easy to come across other types of books. Some of them can be really intriguing.

Even though I usually go there for self-development ideas, I’ve borrowed books on mindful eating, consumption, and Jack the Ripper.

Read something close to a friend’s heart but that you know little about

In relationships, what makes us different can be a great learning ground. What does your best friend continually talk about?

Whether it’s sports, learning a new language, stocks, or something else, their love can encourage us to learn more about it.

The book can educate us in the language our friend uses and maybe shed a different light on the topic.

What are you interested in but haven’t investigated yet?

We all have things that intrigue us, make us wonder, or want to learn about.

Taking time to explore it in books or audiobooks is a low commitment way to explore. This might lead to a favorite passion.

It could be that we want to learn how to cook like the chefs at Disney. It could be a person who had great influence and we want to know more about their life. It could also be simple like how to tell chilling tales.

Go within the same genre but what is underrepresented in your list?

I’m a horror buff. I love everything Stephen King, Vampires, and classic Gothic Literature. However, I didn’t realize until last year that I never read about zombies.

I rectified that by reading Max Brooks. I laughed through The Zombie Survival Guide and listened to an intriguing fantasy war in World War Z.

It was an area that was within my chosen niche but not something I had explored in depth before. It was a new concept to me which stretched me.

What is hiding within your favorite niches, just out of sight?

What has been recommended to you recently?

While recommendations can usually be treated with a grain of salt, this can also stretch you. It can lead to concepts like bullet journaling, digital minimalism, and essentialism that you haven’t thought of before.

Who does your absolute favorite love?

Research who your favorites love. Many times it will be in the same genre, but not always. It will lead to authors you haven’t heard of. Two ways to do this include: online research or check the bibliography at the end of non-fiction books.

Final Thoughts

There are a lot of different ways to diversify your reading list. However, it is important. Variety exposes us to new topics and authors. It gives us something fresh to think about and bring to our bookish conversations.

--

--

Rachella Angel Page
From the Library

Lifestyle and creative non-fiction writer. Wife. Momma of two dogs: Maxwell and Lady. Obsessed with road trips, poetry and Kickstart. IG: @pagesofrachella