Just Stab Me Now by Jill Bearup: Another Tiktok Cash Grab or An Actual Novel?

Sweena Mangal
From the Library
Published in
7 min readFeb 15, 2024

--

DISCLAIMER: I WILL TRY TO KEEP THE SPOILERS TO A MINIMUM, BUT EVEN THE SLIGHTEST THING COULD BE CONSIDERED A SPOILER SO READ AT YOUR OWN RISK.

The book cover, which I found on the internet.

Many content creators want to do more than just make content, but few can break out of that mold and even fewer can do that in a way that garners respect. I had been watching Jill Bearup, a content creator who focused on combat in movies, for some time and loved her shorts where a writer would argue with her characters about how her story should go. I always felt that those shorts would do well to be put together in some other type of media, such as a book, and lo and behold, Jill Bearup answered my wishes.

I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the book and whether she would stick closely to what she had already released with her shorts online, but I was curious enough to grab a paperback copy of the book. Would I say that this book is the absolute best book ever? No. But would I say that this book was a blatant cash grab to take advantage of her followers? Definitely not. I think that as an author, Jill Bearup has a lot of potential. Here’s why:

PROSE

I liked the way the words and font/typeface were used in the book. It was clear which portions focused on the “real world” that the “author”…

--

--

Sweena Mangal
From the Library

Book reviewer and aspiring author. I love to break down books and see the inner works of makes a story work or fall flat.