Reading And Watching “The Da Vinci Code”

To all the readers who were disappointed in the film adaptation of your favorite novel…

Achu Selvi
From the Library
2 min readSep 13, 2023

--

Photo by author

Even though the popularity of the Dan Brown masterpiece was massive, I only got to experience its intriguing plot only a few years ago. We can leave out the reasons. But once I managed to turn its pages, it got me hooked.

It was my first time reading Brown. And he captured my mind so easily that I couldn’t let go of that book for days! Being a fan of thrillers, it had every essential item that could raise my curiosity. Solving mysteries through symbology and cryptology was so satisfying that I even wanted to study it (even though it didn’t last long).

While it is one of the most controversial works of all time, reading it was a treat to my reader’s mind. I was never bored. I never questioned whether it’s historically accurate or not. All I cared about was my satisfaction from an ordinary reader’s point of view.

Although I was a little disappointed by its climax because it seemed like a typical Hollywood thriller finale where Langdon secretly opens the cryptex and removes its contents before tossing the empty cryptex in the air, it easily made my list of my favorite books.

I was curious about how they adapted this work into a movie. I had high expectations since it was Tom Hanks, but was utterly disappointed. I couldn’t watch even 30 minutes of the movie. I couldn’t feel the tension, I couldn’t feel the fear of being chased by Interpol, one of the world’s renowned police organizations. All I could see was Tom Hanks as a star, as an unbeatable hero who could solve every mystery in seconds. I couldn’t see Robert Langdon, an ordinary symbologist and professor who was running for his life. At that point, I didn’t want to watch one of the most interesting scenes of the novel where Sir Leigh Teabing cracks the secret behind The Last Supper. I paused the movie, closed the window, shut down my computer, and started to read the novel again.

--

--

Achu Selvi
From the Library

Wanna be a journalist, but trying to figure out what I am good at